Stir Fried Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
Very easy! I didn't have breadcrumbs, so I added some crushed croutons that I found in the pantry at the end of the cooking. When I asked my boyfriend how he liked the kale, he responded, "That was kale? But that was good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Fast and very tasty way to serve leafy vegetables. I used cabbage instead of kale and stir fried at high heat. I used garlic and herb flavoured bread crumbs. This wasn't too oily and goes well with steak. I will also try spinach with this recipe. I do agree that you have to work quickly with your chosen vegies or else the dish dries out too quickly. Flavoured breadcrumbs helped overcome the bland taste that others may have experienced. Thanks for posting this Heather. EDIT: the leftovers are even yummier, I just microwaved mine on high power for a minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This was fine but very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
I made this as the recipe called for and the kale was too chewy and so I made a simple modification and its awesome. I removed the thick rib in the middle of the kale and chopped it up. Then boiled it x 10 min. Meanwhile cook onion and garlic in frying pan and added some salt,pepper and small amt of hot pepper flakes. Then put the boiled drained kale in the olive oil/onion mixture with salt and pepper and it was really good. Even people who thought they did not like kale enjoyed it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Quick, Easy, Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
First two bites were delicious, but got very sick of the taste afterwards; because it was very bland and dry. I made much better the second time by adding less bread crumbs AFTER the kale, and adding a bit of Hoisin sauce about 30 seconds before done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I cooked this a little differently than the recipe directions. I added the kale and wilted it down and then I added bread crumbs (not as many as the recipe called for) This was tasty but I did think it needed some additional seasonings. red pepper, cumin,.. etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
I made this recipe without the breadcrumbs because I realized I didn't have any in the house once I'd already started cooking. It was very good and had a lot of flavor! The kale shrunk down a lot and absorbed the oil nicely - it wasn't too dry or too wet. I will definitely use this recipe again and maybe try it with spinach too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
This was pretty good, but next time I think I will go without the bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
1) Don't be alarmed by the amount/bulk of fresh kale called for. It reduces so much that you really do need at least 1/2 lb. to get one adult serving. 2) Use a LARGE saute pan or skillet, as the kale needs a lot of surface area to stir fry. If you prepare it in a Dutch oven or a small pan that forces you to pile the kale up, you will not get rid of the water and the kale will saute instead of stir frying. 3) Wilt the kale for no more than 5 minutes. 4) Most Important: Use fewer bread crumbs, and remove the bread-crumb coated onions before adding the kale. Once the kale has stir-fried, put it in a serving dish and add the onions on top. It is a nicer presentation, because loose bread crumbs spread over the kale and make it appear less appetizing. I've never been able to keep the bread crumbs on the onions if I keep them in the pan while I fry the kale. 5) Try this with the Cajun Style Baked Sweet Potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States