Stir Fried Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Getting my husband to eat greens is like getting a 5 year old to eat...well pretty much anything. However with this recipe he actually gets excited when I make it. The key (at least for him) is to let the kale get sort of crispy in the skillet. I think it reminds him more of chips at that point. It is a simple, great recipe that is easy to tweak to your preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Delicious! Skip the bread crumbs, cut down a bit on the olive oil, add a cup of vegetable broth and 2 cans of garbanzos or white beans that have been rinsed and drained. Cover, simmer until kale is tender. Drizzle with balsamic vinegar and sprinkle with hot sauce. Serve over rice, quinoa or cornbread. Delicious, quick dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustNora

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Agree with some of the other reviews. Great basic idea. Needs modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Pretty good. A little dry. Definitely add something--vegetable or chicken broth, maybe--to give it some more moisture. I tried it without the onions and added some spinach leaves, and it was good. Great over brown rice as a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
recommend skipping the breadcrumbs - they turn to mush no matter when added. as for flavor, we much prefer the chicken broth/splash of soy sauce braising method!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Good, simple! Will make again, I did grate a little parmesan on top and added a little salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Great way to use up some kale. I made the following modifications (adapted, in part, by other reviewers' suggestions): cooked garlic and onions, put in the kale and a few splashes of soy sauce, steamed until I thought it was good enough, then mixed in some breadcrumbs and some (vegan) bacon bits. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Great recipe; my family loved it! A couple of recommendations: 1) Before adding the kale, chop it very finely, especially if you have small children. 2) While it's still very hot in the pot/saucepan, throw in a couple of handfuls of grape or cherry tomatoes. The heat softens them but doesn't burst them, and they add so much color and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Kale needs to be cooked to death to make it soft, it is not spinach. This was way too little cooking time in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I followed this recipe as other reviewers suggested and used oyster crackers instead of bread crumbs or croutons, garlic scapes instead of garlic, and added bacon pieces. I like this recipe, but have used another one that was similar and called for browning the onions and garlic and then combining with the kale and chicken or beef stock in a saucepan. The stock gave some extra flavor but was also on the salty side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States