Stir Fried Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I followed everyone's advise and then tweaked some more. Very good and had a lot of ccomplements. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Sonnenreich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This was my first attempt at making kale. The breadcrumbs for me didn't work in this recipe ...was not appealing, weird texture and not particularly tasty. Seems to be lacking flavor to balance-out kale's bitterness. Would recommend prepping the kale better first: cut-out big thick stemmy portions- they are clunky & extra bitter and don't cook evenly with the rest of the dish. I may try this again...incorporating mushrooms & grilled chicken somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Yes..liked it very much.. Added soy sauce whole stir frying.. Think that added a nice flavor profile
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
used half of a leftover superfoods salad mix from Costco and added 3 or 4 handfuls of spinach. Added a cup of vegetable broth and steamed. Yums
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This wasn't very good. There wasn't enough oil to soak up the bread crumbs and so the kale didn't "wilt". It never really cooked and we ended up eating kale with dry breadcrumbs that were somewhat burnt a bit that didn't coat. I didn't want to add more oil as this just made it more unhealthy. I've seen some other reviewers comments that you have to add moisture to this dish which I would advise if I were going to make a modification to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Better than I expected! Added strips of red pepper, and cooked with a lid to hold the moisture in and soften the kale. My boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This recipe turn put good. I use my wok to stir fry the kale.I like the taste of the onion and garlic mix with breadcrumbs. Good combo! Will use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keisha Gayden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I added red peppers when I added the Kale. I also waited until the end to add the breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great recipe! The first time I made this recipe as is and it was perfect. This time, after I had de-ribbed the kale, I realised I was out of breadcrumbs so I made 2 small changes. First I added crushed red pepper to the garlic/onions & then I added 1 tbs butter to the kale in the last minute of cooking..Fantastic! You do not need to add water at all. Toss the kale around for a minute and it will wilt from the heat just fine every single time. I am not sure what a "bunch" of kale is because I pick it from the garden. If you have fresh the amount of kale to make enough to fill a standard veg-can (cooked) from the store would be enough to almost fill a grogery sack(raw).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Used this recipe my first time trying kale, and haven't switched away from it yet! A great way to get accustomed to the flavor of kale. Sometimes I also add a little soy sauce or some raisins to help counter the bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States