Stir Fried Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I loved this recipe and will make it again and again! I love greens, especially Kale, and it was a nice change: no bitterness and I loved how it tasted like stuffing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
Very easy! I didn't have breadcrumbs, so I added some crushed croutons that I found in the pantry at the end of the cooking. When I asked my boyfriend how he liked the kale, he responded, "That was kale? But that was good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Fast and very tasty way to serve leafy vegetables. I used cabbage instead of kale and stir fried at high heat. I used garlic and herb flavoured bread crumbs. This wasn't too oily and goes well with steak. I will also try spinach with this recipe. I do agree that you have to work quickly with your chosen vegies or else the dish dries out too quickly. Flavoured breadcrumbs helped overcome the bland taste that others may have experienced. Thanks for posting this Heather. EDIT: the leftovers are even yummier, I just microwaved mine on high power for a minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This was fine but very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
I made this as the recipe called for and the kale was too chewy and so I made a simple modification and its awesome. I removed the thick rib in the middle of the kale and chopped it up. Then boiled it x 10 min. Meanwhile cook onion and garlic in frying pan and added some salt,pepper and small amt of hot pepper flakes. Then put the boiled drained kale in the olive oil/onion mixture with salt and pepper and it was really good. Even people who thought they did not like kale enjoyed it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Quick, Easy, Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
First two bites were delicious, but got very sick of the taste afterwards; because it was very bland and dry. I made much better the second time by adding less bread crumbs AFTER the kale, and adding a bit of Hoisin sauce about 30 seconds before done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I cooked this a little differently than the recipe directions. I added the kale and wilted it down and then I added bread crumbs (not as many as the recipe called for) This was tasty but I did think it needed some additional seasonings. red pepper, cumin,.. etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
I made this recipe without the breadcrumbs because I realized I didn't have any in the house once I'd already started cooking. It was very good and had a lot of flavor! The kale shrunk down a lot and absorbed the oil nicely - it wasn't too dry or too wet. I will definitely use this recipe again and maybe try it with spinach too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
This was pretty good, but next time I think I will go without the bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States