Stir-Fried Kale and Broccoli Florets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I took note of the other reviews the 2nd time making this. I recommend steaming the kale first, set it aside, and then proceed with the recipe. I never found a good use for kale, and I enjoy this recipe, but kale does taste better a bit more cooked than if stir frying raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
While the flavors were incredible, the texture of the Kale is not at its best when stir-fried. Next time I make this, I will steam the Kale and stir fry the broccoli. Keep in mind: kale takes a while to wilt and the garlic will burn and taste nasty long before the kale is wilted via stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
HOLY MOLY! This was TAS-TEE!!!!! And SO incredibly healthy! I left out the chile pepper and used fresh marinated sundried tomatoes, which I got from an old-world Italian meat market.I also added feta cheese to the mix for that extra flavor/texture. WOW, this was GOOD. Will definitely make again. And again. And again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
This was pretty good. I've never used kale in cooking before so it was a new taste for me. Definitely make sure that you have all the veggies chopped before you begin cooking because everything cooks quickly. I'm definitely going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I got kale and broccoli in my weekly organic vegi pack and tried them in this recipe. The taste is unique but I do like it. Will definitely make again the next time I have broccoli and kale both at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
The last time I ate kale was over 50 years ago. My mther grew it in her garden. I always keep broccoli on hand. My grocery store doesn't sell kale. I got it at the " Whole Foods " store. I used a very large pan and left the kale and broccoli in bite size chunks. Cooking time is a little longer. I used lots of slivered garlic and sun-dried tomatoes. Love both. We have a big lemon tree, so I used the juice of a large lemon instead of limes. This is an adult vegetable dish, I don't think that children would like it. I found it very, very interesting and very tasty. I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
In the opinion of a first time kale eater, this wasn't a bad dish. I actually prefer cooked kale over cooked spinach (although I love raw spinach) because the kale doesn't become so wilted and mushy. It's a pretty dish, especially with the sun dried tomatoes. My only complaint -- kind of sour and I would cut back on the lime juice next time. I also like the suggestion of including feta cheese...maybe even instead of the lime juice. Easy to make! Kids wouldn't eat it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was a lot better than I expected. It is always great to find a healthy dish that is also full of flavor. I think the tomatoes made this dish. This was my first time trying kale and I will definitely have it again in this recipe and others. After reading other's suggestions this is what I decided to do with the recipe and I loved it. I steamed the kale first, and only use 1/2 of a lime. I grilled a marinated chicken breast and corsley chopped a few cashews. I topped the kale and broccoli dish with slices of the chicken and sprinkled the chopped cashews over the top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I really loved this recipe! A great way to serve Kale to people who've never tried it. The breadcrumbs really help cut the bitterness of the Kale. I did end up using an extra tablespoon or so of olive oil to prevent the bread crumbs from burning and to coat the Kale. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
This is a great combination of flavors. The lime gives it a nice bite without being too tart, and the chile pepper provides just the right amount of heat without being overpowering. It's a beautiful dish, with the bright red of the sundried tomatoes complementing the vivid greens. I made this as a main dish with the Cherry Tomato Salad as a side, and everything went together nicely. I'd like to try this with red bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States