Stir-Fried Kale and Broccoli Florets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was a lot better than I expected. It is always great to find a healthy dish that is also full of flavor. I think the tomatoes made this dish. This was my first time trying kale and I will definitely have it again in this recipe and others. After reading other's suggestions this is what I decided to do with the recipe and I loved it. I steamed the kale first, and only use 1/2 of a lime. I grilled a marinated chicken breast and corsley chopped a few cashews. I topped the kale and broccoli dish with slices of the chicken and sprinkled the chopped cashews over the top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Excellent recipe, I tweaked it a little and used ranch dressing and bacon bits. I chop the stems and leaves both, boil for a minute or two and it's done. Kale is the most underrated fountain of health in the produce section, and is the best and cheapest health insurance there is. I eat it three or four times a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was very tasty. I didn't use all the lime though by a long shot, just a sprinkling of juice was enough. And I used red pepper flakes instead of chiles. I took the recipe as a challenge for my kids since several people said kids wouldn't eat this, they (3 and 4 years old) both ate it :) I'm taking off a star because I don't think it would be as good if you followed the recipe exactly and used that much lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. My recommendation, don't make it, find some other recipe that incorporates kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I have never had Kale before but thought this was a very nice dish. I did steam the kale ahead of time but just until it started wilting then I put it in with the rest of the ingredients and let them finish cooking together. I forgot to add the lime while cooking and only had lemons so I just drizzled a little lemon on after plating it, I felt the lemon was a much needed flavor. I also did not have a chili pepper so I used dried red pepper flakes and it worked very well. All in all a recipe I will use again and to boot, my 8, 7, and 6 year old girls all asked to try it and liked it although they did not prefer the sundried tomatoes much so scooted them to the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Robinson Ransom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Don't, don't don't add all the lime in recipe. Only put in a table spoon until you taste it. I halved the recipe amount to one lime and it over powered the whole dish. I will make again because it could work with less lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I love this recipe! I didn't have a chili pepper, so I used about 1/2-1 tsp. of dried chili's. I also only needed 1/2 of a lime for my taste. Yum Yum!!! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This recipe was awesome. My boyfriend WON'T EVER eat kale, and he ate it up and said we should make it more often. I used a little less lime juice, but other than that, no changes were made :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
My mom made this for dinner tonight, and it was just great! We all agreed that we would love to make it again. We added feta cheese, and it really gave to dish a good tinge of sweetness! It was quite beautiful too. i can't wait until we make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
You are NEVER supposed to cook extra virgin olive oil on high heat because of the low smoke point. Use canola or some veg oil that will not scorch on a higher heat than it is made for... rated in the middle since recipe is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kndralyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States