Stir-Fried Kale and Broccoli Florets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
DELICIOUS!!! I have never tried Kale before and this was great. I took the advice of others and steamed the Kale first. I didn't have tomatos or lime but did put in some bread crumbs and a little sharp cheddar cheese. My 18 month old even ate some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I really loved this recipe! A great way to serve Kale to people who've never tried it. The breadcrumbs really help cut the bitterness of the Kale. I did end up using an extra tablespoon or so of olive oil to prevent the bread crumbs from burning and to coat the Kale. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
In the opinion of a first time kale eater, this wasn't a bad dish. I actually prefer cooked kale over cooked spinach (although I love raw spinach) because the kale doesn't become so wilted and mushy. It's a pretty dish, especially with the sun dried tomatoes. My only complaint -- kind of sour and I would cut back on the lime juice next time. I also like the suggestion of including feta cheese...maybe even instead of the lime juice. Easy to make! Kids wouldn't eat it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Tasty AND healthy. BF and I both liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This is SO good, such a nice change from plain old sauteed greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I took note of the other reviews the 2nd time making this. I recommend steaming the kale first, set it aside, and then proceed with the recipe. I never found a good use for kale, and I enjoy this recipe, but kale does taste better a bit more cooked than if stir frying raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
While the flavors were incredible, the texture of the Kale is not at its best when stir-fried. Next time I make this, I will steam the Kale and stir fry the broccoli. Keep in mind: kale takes a while to wilt and the garlic will burn and taste nasty long before the kale is wilted via stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I got kale and broccoli in my weekly organic vegi pack and tried them in this recipe. The taste is unique but I do like it. Will definitely make again the next time I have broccoli and kale both at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This recipe was overpoweringly sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
This is a great combination of flavors. The lime gives it a nice bite without being too tart, and the chile pepper provides just the right amount of heat without being overpowering. It's a beautiful dish, with the bright red of the sundried tomatoes complementing the vivid greens. I made this as a main dish with the Cherry Tomato Salad as a side, and everything went together nicely. I'd like to try this with red bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States