Stir-Fried Chicken and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I tend to prefer dishes with pure and simple flavors over those with more complex flavors and seasonings. No wonder, then, that I enjoyed this simple stir-fry so much. I stuck fairly closely to the recipe, tho’ in consideration of Hubs’ sensitive innards I skipped the red pepper flakes. I also reduced the amount of ginger by half, only because I’m not particularly fond of that spice. Rather than canola oil I used peanut oil and I added some fresh mushrooms and mixed color bell peppers, just cuz. And I did use both the snow peas as well as baby napa cabbage. As for the noodles, I didn’t have a problem at all using spaghetti, but since I just happened to have them I used rice noodles (wow, are THOSE ever easy – boil water, remove the pan from the heat, dump in your noodles and just let them sit there for 8-10 minutes until they soften, just the amount of time needed to prepare the stir-fry) I just couldn’t resist – at the end, just before serving, I added a good dab of butter, just like the Japanese steak houses do, and just because I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Very good! I did however, alter the recipe a bit. I added some cashews and omitted the cabbage and cornstarch. With the noodles, they soak up enough of the liquid and add a little starch, making the sauce perfect! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Never any leftovers! We love this! I have made it with just chicken broth & also made with wine. Didn't notice a difference. Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I used lo mein noodles and the only other thing I will do differently next time is double up on the red pepper. This was excellent just the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Instead of using canola oil, I sprayed wok with cooking spray and then drizzled 1 teaspoon sesame oil around the top of the wok to coat sides. I added a few drops of sesame oil before stir frying vegetables. I added 8 oz. sliced fresh mushrooms with broccoli and carrots. My family really liked this dish and thought it had great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. I omitted the napa cabbage because it didn't look very fresh at the local grocery store. Other than that I prepared as stated, and was pleased at how easy it was to prepare and good it tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
It was very good. I felt like the sauce could use something sweet so I added a little bet of honey. My kids liked it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This recipe has been a huge hit every time I have made it for my family and dinner guests. I use soba (buck wheat) noodles in place of the spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I thought this recipe was wonderful, I added celery and fresh mushrooms, used olive oil rather than canola oil and thin rice noodles. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This recipe was better than I had anticipated. My husband loved it. It's a definite repeater. We kept the sauce the same, but used different veggies. It worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States