Stir-Fried Chicken With Pineapple and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This was excellent! I did double the sauce and that worked out well. I added carrots and snap peas, and used regular onions. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I did enjoy this recipe, however, it didn't quite have the oomph I was hoping for. It may have been because I didn't use any mirin, which, unfortunately, I didn't have on hand. :( In the future, I will definitely add the mirin as called for, a half-tablespoon or sriracha (thai hot sauce), 1/3 cup dry roasted cashews, and more garlic, ginger and if I have some on hand, cilantro too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalier

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Awesome Recipe! Added an asortment of veggies and doubled the sauce. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This is a great recipe. I used boneless chicken thighs instead of the breast. The fresh ginger was a really nice touch. I would only suggest you double the recipe for the sauce...not the pineapple, just the ingredients for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Stir-fried chicken is my signature dish -- what I love to cook for family and company. This week I got a bargain on fresh pineapple so was looking for a recipe to use it, and this was a good one. In addition to the fresh pineapple instead of canned, I substituted jalapeno peppers for some of the green, since I had a surplus from my garden. This added a kick to the sweet-sour flavor. I didn't have mirin, either, so drizzled a little honey into the mix. I am puzzled by the reviewer who said she substituted honey for corn syrup, as there is no corn syrup in the original recipe. Perhaps she mis-read cornstarch, which is what thickens the sauce and doesn't add any flavor. I am used to marinating my chicken for a little while, so I poured the sauce ingredients over the chicken while I chopped the vegetables, then strained it off again before cooking the chicken in a wok. Remove the chicken and then wok the vegetables, starting with hard ones (I used carrots, too) and adding the tender ones, ending with the pineapple. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lisle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This is a wonderful sweet sour chicken recipe. I used leftover baked garlic chicken cut in chunks and just added to the veggies and sauce to heat through. Delicious! P.S. I did have mirin in the refrigerator, but I believe I read somewhere that you could substitute rice vinegar mixed with a little corn syrup to give the stir fry that shiny glazed appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I like the recipe and it's a keeper! I modified it to suit my taste and will be making this again. I used many additional vegetables such as water chestnuts, straw mushrooms, carrots, broccoli and cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Glacken Wyandt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This was really good. I had only ginger in a spice jar and used the same amount as the fresh. I also had only a little left over sauteed peppers & onions (about 1/4 cup) so that's all I used. This was perfect-nothing needs to be changed or enhanced. Even my picky 8 yr. old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This recipe is absolutely wonderful! The colors are so vibrant and the flavors are so well balanced. This was a big hit for my family. I made it twice so far. The first time the vegetables came out mushy and over cooked, so the second time I made sure to cook the chicken well right from the start, then I made the sauce without any vegetables in it and when it thickened enough I added first the chicken and then the vegetables. I didn't let it cook for that long from here on to keep the vegetables nice and crisp and vibrant in color. I also used fresh pineapple which made a big difference. It didn't need any of the juice at all. Also I wouldn't recommend substituting ground ginger instead of the fresh one. I have tried that since the first time I didn't have fresh ginger on hand and the flavor was not quit right. We all really enjoyed this recipe and I will make it again and again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
the flavors were very good once the pineapple juice cut the salt of the other sauce down - but i had a hard time with the proportions. at first it wasn't enough sauce, so i doubled it, but that was a little too much and made my veggies soggy near the end. i'm not sure what the trick should be here - maybe to thicken/heat the sauce separately so as not to sog-ify the veggies? well, it was pretty good in the end either way and the hubby loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Pineapple Chicken Tenders

See how to make juicy, tender grilled chicken skewers.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States