Stir-Fried Chicken With Pineapple and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
***A GREAT stir fry recipe! I did not have mirin (sweetened Asian wine) so I just used some white wine I had in the fridge. It was fine but I imagine the mirin would add a nice flavor to the sauce. I will look for it in the store for next time. I used a few other vegetables also, like carrots, celery and mushrooms...We like lots of veggies. My children loved this meal as well. Thanks Jean!***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Delicious and easy to make! I used fresh pineapple, red onions, and red peppers...colorful end result! I increased the sauce and mixed it all together with asian bean threads. Also added a little brown sugar in the end to cut the saltiness of the soy and give it a nice mix of flavors. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akkadoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Stir-fried chicken is my signature dish -- what I love to cook for family and company. This week I got a bargain on fresh pineapple so was looking for a recipe to use it, and this was a good one. In addition to the fresh pineapple instead of canned, I substituted jalapeno peppers for some of the green, since I had a surplus from my garden. This added a kick to the sweet-sour flavor. I didn't have mirin, either, so drizzled a little honey into the mix. I am puzzled by the reviewer who said she substituted honey for corn syrup, as there is no corn syrup in the original recipe. Perhaps she mis-read cornstarch, which is what thickens the sauce and doesn't add any flavor. I am used to marinating my chicken for a little while, so I poured the sauce ingredients over the chicken while I chopped the vegetables, then strained it off again before cooking the chicken in a wok. Remove the chicken and then wok the vegetables, starting with hard ones (I used carrots, too) and adding the tender ones, ending with the pineapple. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lisle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
LOVED it! I used honey instead of the corn syrup and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Best stir-fry I ever made. The sauce was thick and the veggies stayed crispy when following the instructions. I did double the recipe and I added a can of stir-fry veggies, fresh green and red pepper strips, the green onions and 2 cans of mushrooms. I served over rice and no left-overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
It was o.k. I would not make this again. If I did, I would add onions and carrots. It was just a little too sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
the flavors were very good once the pineapple juice cut the salt of the other sauce down - but i had a hard time with the proportions. at first it wasn't enough sauce, so i doubled it, but that was a little too much and made my veggies soggy near the end. i'm not sure what the trick should be here - maybe to thicken/heat the sauce separately so as not to sog-ify the veggies? well, it was pretty good in the end either way and the hubby loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
very easy and very quick, didn't have the chinese wine so i used a little red wine came out very good, also i doubled the recipe like some of the other suggestions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This was very easy. Followed directions to a "T" and added brocoli slaw. My family enjoyed it served over brown rice yet I felt it lacked a zip or something, not sure. Maybe some black bean paste/sauce would enhance this dish. I will make it again for the ease of it and the nutrition of getting those veggies in! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
Very good. I doubled the sauce. I was able to get the mirin at our local grocery store (Publix) in the oriental food isle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Pineapple Chicken Tenders

See how to make juicy, tender grilled chicken skewers.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States