Stir-Fried Chicken With Pineapple and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
***A GREAT stir fry recipe! I did not have mirin (sweetened Asian wine) so I just used some white wine I had in the fridge. It was fine but I imagine the mirin would add a nice flavor to the sauce. I will look for it in the store for next time. I used a few other vegetables also, like carrots, celery and mushrooms...We like lots of veggies. My children loved this meal as well. Thanks Jean!***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Delicious and easy to make! I used fresh pineapple, red onions, and red peppers...colorful end result! I increased the sauce and mixed it all together with asian bean threads. Also added a little brown sugar in the end to cut the saltiness of the soy and give it a nice mix of flavors. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akkadoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Stir-fried chicken is my signature dish -- what I love to cook for family and company. This week I got a bargain on fresh pineapple so was looking for a recipe to use it, and this was a good one. In addition to the fresh pineapple instead of canned, I substituted jalapeno peppers for some of the green, since I had a surplus from my garden. This added a kick to the sweet-sour flavor. I didn't have mirin, either, so drizzled a little honey into the mix. I am puzzled by the reviewer who said she substituted honey for corn syrup, as there is no corn syrup in the original recipe. Perhaps she mis-read cornstarch, which is what thickens the sauce and doesn't add any flavor. I am used to marinating my chicken for a little while, so I poured the sauce ingredients over the chicken while I chopped the vegetables, then strained it off again before cooking the chicken in a wok. Remove the chicken and then wok the vegetables, starting with hard ones (I used carrots, too) and adding the tender ones, ending with the pineapple. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lisle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
LOVED it! I used honey instead of the corn syrup and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Best stir-fry I ever made. The sauce was thick and the veggies stayed crispy when following the instructions. I did double the recipe and I added a can of stir-fry veggies, fresh green and red pepper strips, the green onions and 2 cans of mushrooms. I served over rice and no left-overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
It was o.k. I would not make this again. If I did, I would add onions and carrots. It was just a little too sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
the flavors were very good once the pineapple juice cut the salt of the other sauce down - but i had a hard time with the proportions. at first it wasn't enough sauce, so i doubled it, but that was a little too much and made my veggies soggy near the end. i'm not sure what the trick should be here - maybe to thicken/heat the sauce separately so as not to sog-ify the veggies? well, it was pretty good in the end either way and the hubby loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
very easy and very quick, didn't have the chinese wine so i used a little red wine came out very good, also i doubled the recipe like some of the other suggestions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This was very easy. Followed directions to a "T" and added brocoli slaw. My family enjoyed it served over brown rice yet I felt it lacked a zip or something, not sure. Maybe some black bean paste/sauce would enhance this dish. I will make it again for the ease of it and the nutrition of getting those veggies in! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
Very good. I doubled the sauce. I was able to get the mirin at our local grocery store (Publix) in the oriental food isle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Pineapple Chicken Tenders

See how to make juicy, tender grilled chicken skewers.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States