Stir-Fried Chicken With Pineapple and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This was easy and tasty. I didn't have mirin, so like other reviewers, I used sweet red wine with a bit of honey. I subbed a regular onion for the green one and added a handful of mushrooms. Perfect over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I thought this had a pretty funky taste. I followed the recipe exactly too. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
fantastic, he who eats NOTHING ate every bite thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I thought it was bland and lacked any distinctive flavor. I was confused about adding the pineapple with or without the juice. I added the juice with the pineapple and perhaps that is what watered down the sauce. Another reviewer said she was also confused and did not add the juice, but we both came to the same conclusion, not enough flavor. Not sure what I did wrong, but would be willing to try again if the instructions were clear on the pineapple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was delicious! So good that my picky hubby went back for seconds and we were fighting over the leftovers for lunch the next day! Used the honey idea since I had no mirin. Added red wine and red wine vinegar instead of the mirin and white wine vinegar. Also to the sauce, I added some red pepper flakes for a little bit of spice. Also used frozen pineapple chunks (no juice) and doubled the other sauce to make up for the lack of juice. Added broccoli and onions to the veggies. All in all it came out perfect. The veggies weren't overcooked using this method and the chicken was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sagorman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Didn't like it. And on top of that the directions were not very good- for example do you drain the pineapple or not? I did but then the other flavors over powered the pineapple and you couldn't really taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Kinney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I have been making this recipe for years. One of my family's favorites from the site! I have never had the mirin to make it. I usually throw in some wine and a little brown sugar. LOVE it. I make twice the amount of sauce because its delicious over the rice. I always serve with rice pilaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catawissa, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Very nice, quick and easy. I added mushrooms and broccoli. Next time I'll probably add some chilies as well to give it a bit of a kick. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
we loved it! and very quick and easy to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Made this for my family and they loved it and keep asking for it to be made again. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Pineapple Chicken Tenders

See how to make juicy, tender grilled chicken skewers.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States