Stir-Fried Chicken With Pineapple and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Excellent taste. Too make it more of a meal I added carrots, celery and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
good for stir fry, but stir fry itself isn't anything special. Used bamboo shoots as well and just regular white wine, but all in all despite this being a good recipe it isn't anything that "popped."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This was an excellent recipe with a few modifications. The recipe did not say what to do with the pineapple juice so I added it to the sauce ingredients and doubled the amount of cornstarch. Also, I added the sesame oil to the sauce as a seasoning, not as an oil for stir frying. Sesame oil is too delicate and not a suitable oil when using high temperatures. Finally, I cut the chicken in thin slices instead of 1 inch pieces. The slices cooked quickly and provided more surface area for the sauce to coat. The results were delicious! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I love stir-fry and this recipe is a good start. However, I would not add pineapple as suggested in the recipe. Strain the pineapples and use the juice, but don't add the pineapple until the end. Better yet, use FRESH pineapple. It makes a world of difference. Buit still don't add it until the end. I try not to keep a bunch of specialty ingredients for recipes cluttering my cabinets, so I just used white vinegar and white wine instead of the specialty stuff. It worked fine. Also added a bit of red pepper flakes to kick it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Wonderful! I did add a couple dashes of cayenne pepper to give it a kick as well as additional vegetables such as mushrooms, zucchini from the garden and even celery. Since I added additional veggies I added 1/2 cup of water to give it a bit more sauce. Perfect.. Will be making this over and over and over. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Milligan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uccle, Brussels, Belgium
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I like this dish very much but hubby felt it tasted a little sour (his words) so I think next time I'll add about a teaspoon of brown sugar to the soy mixture to level things out. I am thinking the pineapple juice might not have been very sweet. I also added mushrooms and snow peas to the dish because I had them and needed to use them up. I recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
YUMMMY!!! The taste of the pineapple mixed with chicken was very good. I served it over brown rice. Everybody loved it. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Excellent! Hard to find asian recipes that aren't too salty. For those of you who don't have mirin use 3T dry sherry to 1T sugar. I also doubled the sauce. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Didn't use ginger or Asian wine and 1/2 the garlic and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I liked it...... but unfortunately I was the only one in my family that did. Other reviewers reported great success with picky eaters, which is partly why I chose this recipe..... but no dice with my crew. A few tips for others who want to try it: (1)carrots work well with the pineapple in this stir fry, and add nice color; just slice them fairly thin. (2)Someone was confused about what to do with the pineapple juice, and got soggy veggies as a result. I stirred all the juice from the pineapple can into the sauce, therefore adding it in the very last step, separate from the pineapple itself. This worked very well; the finished sauce was a good thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Pineapple Chicken Tenders

See how to make juicy, tender grilled chicken skewers.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States