Stinging Nettle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
super nutritious and satisfying soup. You can really feel the food power of the nettles. First time I made it was with homemade chicken broth and THAT version was sublime. Always a little less good with bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I make this in batches to feed 50 people. I don't measure anything and I make it much less thick. Also I substitute barley for the rice. Everyone loves it. Every time. Even the meatiest of the meat eaters ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystle Craig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
So deeply green it is like eating Ireland! I did not pick my own nettles. I cannot judge if they were good, bad or indifferent in quality. The part of the recipe that suggests cutting off the tough stems is important. I cut many, but too many were left behind. I used a standard blender to purée the soup and long tough fibers were wrapped all around the blades. That made it easy for me to get ''em out of the end dish, but many ended up in the bowl. Still edible, but not ideal. I will be wiser next time, and there will be a next time! It is a lovely soup, it seems doubly useful as a starting point for so many other delicious things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Deeelicious. Read the recipe, eyeballed the amounts, went out and picked some nettles, and it turned out great. Very forgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Delicious! My family loves it. I like it with a squeeze of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Very nice! Went out and harvested some nettles this afternoon. Good spur of the moment recipe. I modified it a bit though, with chopped potatoes instead of rice, and a dash or two of sugar (didn't have any honey). Thank you, and love the pic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
We made a half batch of this, close to how it's written. Had 1/2 lb of nettles, but since we wound up with more than 2 cups of chicken broth (the can we had was around 20-22 oz), I used the full 1/4 cup of rice and the whole medium onion to thicken it a bit. This is a nice, simple recipe which has an unexpected depth of flavor. It made our first experience with actually EATING stinging nettles (rather than simply getting stung by them) a very good one. We'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
OMG, yum!!! I have to admit I didn't measure anything and I added way more rice than required. When I lifted the lid after simmering it, it was like a risotto and so so yummy!!! Wow, I'm hoping I can recreate it exactly, it was DELISH. My 1 1/2 year old devoured it and my meat loving husband couldn't get enough. I can't wait till next week when I can buy more nettles at the farmers market!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Simple yet so delicious. I would agree with the other reviewers, that it would make a better sauce than a soup because the flavor of the nettles was a bit overwhelming for me when I ate it straight. It reminded my husband of palak paneer, so he added chunks of sauteed tofu to the soup and it was a great addition! We'll eat the leftovers over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This is so easy to make and tastes great. I ate it as a soup, but plan to use the leftovers on pasta as a previous reviewer suggested. I will also use low salt chicken broth next time as it was just a little salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States