Sticky Toffee Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Delicious and oh so sweet! The recipe seems accurate, but the instructions for the caramel sauce should be clarified. Whenever you make caramel sauce, you should always cook the sugar with the butter ONLY until it reaches a "soft" ball stage - after about 5 minutes of continuous surface bubbling. Only THEN do you add the cream or milk and vanilla. You won't end up with that greasy separated mess that some have described. Serving the warm sauce over the sweet cake and a lump of vanilla ice cream is a perfect way to end a special evening's meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
A similar recipe calls for 1 cup of water to be brought to the boil in a saucepan with about a cup of chopped dates (you can use dried chopped dates instead of fresh if these are not available). Then take it off the heat and add the 1 teaspoon of Baking Soda. It will fizz up quite a bit so don't be alarmed. Leave it to cool while you pretty much follow the rest of this recipe. The recipe I have calls for more flour though (1 1/2 cups of self-rising flour) which may explain why some found this version to be "mushy". I have found that this cooks very well in a greased glass 9-inch pie dish cooked for about 40-45 mins. I only gave this version 4 stars though because the other recipe makes a richer, better tasting sauce. (Dissolve 1 1/2 cups firmly packed brown sugar in 1 1/2 cups heavy cream, stir over heat without boiling. When sugar is dissolved take it off the heat and add 1 stick and 1 Tbs chopped butter, stir until dissolved). You can serve the sauce poured over the pudding if you like a cake-like consistency but if you like a "gooier" sticky pudding, poke some holes in the top and spoon some of the sauce over it so it soaks in. You can then serve with more sauce if wanted. Hope this additional information helps and that you enjoy this traditional "down under" favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
Excellent recipe! Tried a version of this 6 years ago at a tea shop in England, and this recipe is pretty close! I made this for a large group and the pan was scraped clean!!! Not to mention all the recipe requests! I also used whipping cream for the sauce. Be sure to use REAL butter as this makes a huge difference--especially in the sauce! Thanks Maree
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Awesome! I've had this a couple times eating out and loved it every time. finding this recipe I had to try it at home - to be honest, I've never had better! I baked it in a bundt pan and did what a couple reviewers had suggested (I doubled the sauce and didn't add the milk and vanilla until the sugar/butter mixture had reached soft ball stage), I also poked holes in the pudding when it was done and poured 1/2 the sauce all over it and put it back in the oven for another 10 minutes - a heavenly delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
This was a quick, easy and really good recipe for someone with a sweet tooth. The only changes I would suggest making would be to lower the sugar a little bit. I cut it down to a half cup of sugar and it still was bordering on excessively sweet. Also, I think next time I make this, I'll pour the caramel sauce overtop and then put it in the oven. I'm used to pudding cakes being more 'pudding' like. If you follow what the recipe says, it still turns out a really tasty, moist cake with a surprising amount of flavor...I can hardly keep my hands off of it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This is a very easy recipe! Cooked it about 50 minutes. But a word of caution...you can't eat just one slice!!!! I cut the amount of sugar in the cake itself and I'm glad I did because the sauce is SO sweet. Don't get me wrong - the sauce is awesome just very sweet. Definately will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Klang, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Pretty good. Be careful not to overdue it with the dates (ouch!) Would be good substituting dates with other dried fruits and flavored chips. I didn't care too much for the sauce, next time I'll use a thicker/sweeter caramel sauce. Oh yeah, a little cocoa powder in the cake mix was a hit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I made this recipe for dessert on Christmas and everyone LOVED it. I was told that it was the best dessert someone had had in months, and that I was going to have to make it every year from now on. try putting a dollop of whip cream on top of each slice and sprinkling Heath Bar Baking bits on top :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
Took this to a potluck I went to and it was HIT! Have to pass the recipe along to 4 people... Tastes JUST like the version I have had at a English Restaurant in town... Aboslutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMMLS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is an excellent recipe but better with a few mods: We added hot water to the dates to cover them so as to make about 2 cups total. We used less sugar in the cake - 1/2 cup For the sauce I first mixed the butter and sugar till it melted an bubbled for 4 minutes, stirring constantly. I then added the concentrated milk and about 1/3 cup of 2% milk to thin the caramel. Next time I make this I make make it even thinner by skipping evaporated milk all-together. The intent is to make something that soaks more easily into the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States