Sticky Toffee Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This is a very easy recipe! Cooked it about 50 minutes. But a word of caution...you can't eat just one slice!!!! I cut the amount of sugar in the cake itself and I'm glad I did because the sauce is SO sweet. Don't get me wrong - the sauce is awesome just very sweet. Definately will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Klang, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
This was a quick, easy and really good recipe for someone with a sweet tooth. The only changes I would suggest making would be to lower the sugar a little bit. I cut it down to a half cup of sugar and it still was bordering on excessively sweet. Also, I think next time I make this, I'll pour the caramel sauce overtop and then put it in the oven. I'm used to pudding cakes being more 'pudding' like. If you follow what the recipe says, it still turns out a really tasty, moist cake with a surprising amount of flavor...I can hardly keep my hands off of it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
Wow! This is so good! Rich, dense but delicate, moist, melt-in-your-mouth, gooey toffee decandence. We had it with pecan praline ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
My sticky-date-pudding-loving Aussie husband says he's never tasted a sticky date pudding quite as AWESOME as this recipe. I had no evaporated milk so I used condensed milk and fresh milk, and the sauce turned out YUMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Absolutely wonderful cake. I didn't change a thing. My husband, who is not a big fan of sweets, ate the whole cake in one night. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
Excellent recipe! Tried a version of this 6 years ago at a tea shop in England, and this recipe is pretty close! I made this for a large group and the pan was scraped clean!!! Not to mention all the recipe requests! I also used whipping cream for the sauce. Be sure to use REAL butter as this makes a huge difference--especially in the sauce! Thanks Maree
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
after trying some other rcipes, this one is the closest to a pudding without the annoying steaming! makes good muffins too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
very good. i made for my Australian husband on Australia day and he loved it! i cut the recipe in half as there was just 2 of us. worked perfectly. i didn't make half the sauce though- and I'm glad. the more sauce the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2003
This did not turn out right for me. I do not kinow what went wrong. It was almost soupy in the middle-yet cooked for an hour. Maybe the word pudding in its name suggests that this is the correct consistency. I dont know. My grandmother was from Australia so Im always looking to replicate food she may have eaten for my mother. In any event- the highlight of the dish was the caramel sauce- so yummy. Im going to use that fron now on for ice cream etc. Thanks- I may try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAWGODESSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prince George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
Simply put, this was wonderful.I did make the sauce with whipping cream, since I had some on hand, and it was outstanding. Served warm with vanilla ice cream, this recipe was far and away the best dessert I've made in some time. I plan on having the leftovers for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States