Sticky Toffee Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I made this yesterday for friends coming to dinner and I was a little disapointed. I had this dessert in Merrickville, Ont. and it was to die for. I found this recipe and had high expectations. I made it in muffin tins and they were really hard to get out. They stuck and fell apart. The recipe should of said to prep the pan. Also the recipe does not say to puree the dates after they are in the hot water. I saw that on TV while someone at some restaurant in Boston made this recipe. It was good and I would like to make this again but maybe with a different sauce from another site. It was very brown sugary tasting. My guests were very happy with it but I was comparing it to the one I had at the restaurant. Thank you for the recipe and I will keep tweeking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I had never had sticky toffee pudding before, and had never been a big fan of dates, but I made this on the request of a British friend. It turned out to be one of the best desserts I've ever had. With just the two of us at dinner, there was a lot left over, and I summoned the willpower to wrap and freeze it before I ate it all. I pulled it out for a last-minute dinner party four months later, thawed it unwrapped on a wire rack for a couple of hours, and made a new batch of caramel sauce -- it was as good as the day I first made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
it looks niccce my mom made it i went crazy over it it was the best...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Made this exactly as written. Would give it more stars if I could. This is absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Really good! I cut down on the sugar for inside the cake too and it was perfect. I made it in a bundt pan and when it cooled a bit poured the caramel sauce over it in the pan. Then I let it soak all in for a few hours, then tipped it out of the pan. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as-is and it came out perfect. There is no need to get complicated with the caramel sauce, it's very easy, along with the baked portion of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This was really good/great cake. We coundn't even taste the dates. I did bring the sugar and butter to a slow boil before I added the milk and vanilla to the sauce.... Wish I had a big scoop of vanilla ice cream to go with it... Thanks for a great recipe>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAMMA KATSY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Just to clarify on the name: Sticky Toffee Pudding is originally a British steamed dessert. It uses the term "pudding" in the British sense, not the American. Don't expect this to be pudding-ish in the American terms. It is a cake with caramel/toffee sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
EXCELLENT. I MADE THESE INTO CUPCAKES. THE CARAMEL TOPPING WAS OKAY, BUT I AM GOING TO SEARCH OUT A BETTER CARAMEL . BUT THE CUPCAKES WERE SO GOOD YOU DIDN'T EVEN NEED THE TOPPING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNE
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I was a bit confused by the directions. It says to pour enough boiling water over dates to just cover them. Then later you pour the date mixture including the water into the batter. Do they mean only the water on the dates or do you include the rest of the water? I found this a bit confusing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States