Sticky Toffee Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Omg!!!!! This recipe was wonderful!!! All 12 guest really loved it. Easy to prepare. Really passed my family's test when asked the BIG question...ok who would request me to bake this recipe cake for their birthdays.... Everyone said I would!!! That's a great 5 star rating right there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is so good! Love the caramel flavor and the cake is so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Franpod
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
A brilliant easy recipe! I'm a beginner and I made them as little individual sticky toffee puddings and they were fabulous. I didn't fill the little cups all the way up with the mixture and they rose beautifully. A lovely light sponge and the dates make it lovely and squidgy when baked. I used those sticky dates from the veg shop rather than the packet ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Franpod

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I have been making a very similar recipe for over 20 years. Five star recipe, four star for the confusing instructions in this recipe. Combine the pitted dates (my recipe specifies 8 oz), baking soda and boiling water (just 1 cup) in a food processor to chop until they are very fine. The mixture will be foamy. If you don't have self rising flour use regular flour and add 1/2 tsp. baking powder. The cake can be baked in a 9x9 or 13x9 pan. It's always nicely set in 35-45 minutes. My toffee sauce is different - 1-1/2 cups heavy cream, 3/4 cup unsalted butter, 1/2 cup DARK brown sugar. Combine all in saucepan over low heat until melted. Simmer gently for 20 min. or until thick, stirring often. Don't boil this! I would think that the evaporated milk would make the sauce too sweet. This very moist cake freezes well. I've successfully made the toffee sauce earlier in the day and reheated it just before serving. Warm the cake before serving, top with toffee sauce and a dollop of real whipped cream sweetened with just a little sugar. A traditional Christmas dessert in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Awesome! I made this for an European-themed holiday party a few years back, but never got a chance to review it. It was great, and everyone commented on the moistness of the cake and the caramel sauce. I will be making it for my husband, who has a constant sweet tooth, very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Rating for CAKE only. I used those pelletized dates from a grocery bulk bin. Followed the recipe exactly and baked it in an 8" round. Used 800 grams as a deposit weight approx 28oz or 1.77 lbs. baked for about 35-40 min. Very simple recipe-mixed it with my kitchen aid and did not do any hand folding-just mixed last part on lowest setting only till combined. Made my own Self rising flour by googling it. Results were moist but not overly moist and could barely stop myself from eating the whole thing-D-LISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEVADA753

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Thank you! This recipe was great. We just made it last night for a "British" food theme night for the olympics and it was a bit hit. We made it exactly as written. I did make my own self rising flour by adding baking soda and salt to regular flour based on an article I found online (since I didn't have any self rising flour on hand). It was delicious warm with vanilla ice cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This was delicious! I agree with the adding cream or milk and vanilla after the boiling...but,,,oh so easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Love this recipe. Have served it twice to company and it all disappeared fast. Did not change a thing, but next time might double the sauces and poke and pour on half while cake is still hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I love this recipe. It's so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States