Sticky Toffee Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Tip 1: don't chop the dates, soak them and then blend/purée them into a paste Tip 2: Sub salted butter, unless you are watching you sodium Tip 3: Sub 1 Cup regular flour, 1 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt if you don't have self rising
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
What an incredible recipe! I didn't have self-raising flour, so I added 3/4 tsp. of baking powder to 1.25 cups of flour and the cake rose beautifully. Even though I am not fond of evaporated milk, I used fat free evaporated milk in the sauce and it worked out well. There was not a single issue with the recipe. For an extra bit of decadence I added a dollop of whip cream to each serving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
What a hit! My husbands family are not ones to try new things, but they could not resist this! Not overly sweet , & very rich in taste, will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by De

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
OMG!!! That's how I would describe this cake!!! Just perfect, except that as per the reviews of few, i cut down the sugar content and the cake turned out sweet enough. Just a little glitch, the cake baked sooner on the outside, but the inside was still very much semi solid. So I cut down to heat to 150c and baked for another 20 min till done. Hot pudding with vanilla ice-cream a perfect combo!!! Yummmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Easy recipe, substitute a gluten free self rising mixture for the one listed here and it makes a really good gluten free treat. People are amazed it is gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean-Guy Niquet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Very good. Everyone loved it. Will make it again. Very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was wonderful. I didn't change a thing. I lived in in the UK for a little while, and fell in love with this dessert. This brings back great memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
After making this recipe and loving it, I use this caramel sauce with bread pudding, banana bread, etc. It's delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieliseCanada

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Don't let the fact that this recipe is made with Dates stop you.. it is moist, and just amazing. be sure and let the chopped dates sit a while in the water / baking soda to soften them, and you won't even know they are there. They bring the most amazing sweetness with very little sugar! Make this for the holidays. Everyone will think you are a genious. I poured the topping over the moist cake after punching some small holes with a skewer. I am keeping it in the fridge and then just giving it a little warm up in the microwave. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
We discovered this dessert on a trip to Scotland (we had it four times over nine days!) and I had to try it at home. I followed this recipe exactly and it was fantastic...and surprisingly easy, too. The caramel sauce was a little thin so I'll try the suggestions next time. A huge hit with our guests. This is going into my permanent company rotation. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States