Sticky Monkey Brains Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Since I don't have bundt pans I used loaf pans. I guess I didn't understand if you are supposed to put them in a single layer, or multiple layers. No where does it seem to say that. With so much biscuit spread over over multiple pans I didn't have enough of the sugar mix to make everything sticky. 3 cans of biscuits also made WAY too much even for 5 people. The gooeyier parts tasted great, so I experiment with 1 can at a time in future. I may try dipping in butter first as someone else suggested as the biscuits didn't pick up much of the sugar mix (too dry). I think this will be a great recipe to experiment with!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This was SO EASY and SO YUMMY! I am not a fan of that canned bisuit stuff, so I tried this recipe using pizza dough. I bought frozen and left it out on the counter overnight. I followed all the directions from there. It did overflow the pan a bit, so be careful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama_tobix5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
i just finished eating these, and they were outstanding! i only used one can of biscuits and fixed the ingredient measurements accordingly. it was really great because i wanted something sweet and had all the items on hand. i was a little leery because of the "can biscuit" taste but read in a previous post that you can't taste it and that was true. can't wait to make it again in the bunt pans for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This recipe is easy and delicious! I haven't had Monkey bread in years. I use to get it in a hole in the wall bakery in Hawaii years ago and have not seen it anywhere since. I made a couple of adjustments. I used 2 large (8 bisquits ea.) flaky biscuits and cut each piece into quarters. I doubled the sugar mixture then tossed the biscuits and sugar mixture in a ziploc bag. I also doubled the brown sugar and butter mixture since I really like the stickiness. I then baked for 40 minutes. Perfect! Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I made this recipe in one large bundt pan. I followed it exactly as written, EXCEPT I added one pint of whipping cream over the contents to make it more "gooey". It was wonderful and received raves from all! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
NOTE: When the author says small bundt pans, she must not mean the muffin-sized bundt pans. I made a HUGE mess of my oven; butter and brown sugar EVERYWHERE. It has taken hours to get the smoke out of my house. This is an awesome recipe, and I give it 5 stars, but wanted to warn anyone else who might decide to try the muffin-sized pan approach. DON'T!!! :) I'll bet it's wonderful when using small individual bundt pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I made this for the first time tonight and didnt think mine would turn out but it did! IT IS SOOOOO YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrixieDarty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Satanta, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This is a great and really easy recipe, but a big key to success is using the small pans. If you use a big pan, or even two medium size pans, you won't be able to get the pieces on the bottom baked thoroughly without over cooking the top ones. If you don't have smaller pans to work with, then cut back on the recipe to use with larger pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Oh yeah, this is awesome! Fun to make, little kids can help roll the dough. I did take the suggestion of rolling the dough in butter first, then in the sugar/cinnamon mixture. Also I don't have mini bundt pans so I just used some mini loaf pans and it worked out wonderfully. Thanks for sharing this tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States