Sticky Date Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
My husband and I now live in Ireland. This was excellent! I no longer own a food processor, so I simply "cooked" the dates until they were smooth. Having read lots of Sticky Pudding recipes, I desired a thicker sauce. I cooked the sauce to more of a caramel. Removed the puddings from the pan, placed a small amount of sauce in the individual dishes, placed the puddings and poured the sauce over them and let them sit. They were placed back into the oven prior to serving to warm them and the sauce. Exactly how they are "done" over here. Next time I will serve them with a traditional custard as well. Thank you for sharing an easy and great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by saroona
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This was great! everyone simply loved it!! I would reduce the sauce by half next time tho..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saroona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I love 'sticky date pudding' but I leave the chocolate out and I also add 1 tbls of dark rum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was absolutely amazing!! I made it just to get rid of some dates that I had and was VERY pleasantly surprised. I don't think I would only make half of the sauce, as one reviewer suggested. All of the sauce will be used up. I invited my critical neighbour over to try it and his face lit up with joy when he took the first bite! I'm pretty sure eating this put him in a better mood. I used half and half instead of heavy cream and light margarine instead of butter in the sauce. The taste was great but I'm sure the thicker sauce that would have resulted from using the heavy cream would have been amazing. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalan L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chapleau, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Delicious! I've been searching for a sticky toffee pudding recipe like the kind I had in Edinburgh and this is pretty darn close. Definitely 5 stars for taste, but 3 stars for the process and amount of dishes you get dirty. As others have stated this would be great for dinner parties since it makes 12 individual servings but if you have some leftover like me, refrigerate the puddings with some sauce on top of each one since it thickens as it cools. Microwave an individual portion and it's just as good as straight from the oven. I served mine with vanilla ice cream. Very, very good but will make only once in a while since each pudding is over 500 calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Salha.K
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
A great recipe, YUMMMYY! I did few alterations, I replaced dark choco (didn't have any) with coca powder and I have cut back half of the sauce. I HIGHLY recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salha.K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Wow, what a winner. I made this for a group of mates for an after bbq pudding, and went down a treat as it was a really cold night and the guys were frozen. Having individual servings was fantastic and made a double recipe so have frozen the few that were left over. They are very sweet and rich though so cant eat too many (which is probably a good thing!!). Just divine, thank you so much for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vonda K
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Wonderful recipe. Didn't change a thing besides reducing the sauce part by half. Family loves them. All the ladies at ladies night raved. The guys at work couldn't get enough. And me ... I would say this is one of my favorite puddings. If your concerned about it tasting like dates, two of my children don't like dates but loves this. Also don't be concerned if the mixture is a thinner consistency than muffins. Thanks Lian W for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I baked this last night for a dinner party and everybody loved it. It was light and moist and the muffin portion was the perfect serving size. I made exactly as the recipe stated. Definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This was a surprise! Cannot taste the dates but makes a lovely moist chocolate muffin which is excellent with the rich sauce. I would make less sauce next time (3/4 recipe) as I thought really too much... but it WAS delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States