Sticky Date Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was FANTASTIC! I made mini cakes as well as muffins and they turned out soft and fluffy! I haven't tried the sauce. Just made the cakes. I did make a few changes *cut the sugar down, (out of 375g -> 200g) *1/3 of the flour, I used wholemeal flour *used self raising instead of adding baking powder *1/3 of the liquid added to the pot with the dates was orange juice [got that from other recipies] *used margarine instead of butter cause thats what I had [ can't tell the difference ] Note: I found the mixture after cooking, was too thick to be blended successfully but was already so mushy the blending wasn't really needed. In the future I would: completely use only wholemeal flour for a more gritty earthy taste? Maybe add some nuts. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Wow, what a winner. I made this for a group of mates for an after bbq pudding, and went down a treat as it was a really cold night and the guys were frozen. Having individual servings was fantastic and made a double recipe so have frozen the few that were left over. They are very sweet and rich though so cant eat too many (which is probably a good thing!!). Just divine, thank you so much for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
A 5-star recipe for no doubt. My husband, my two friends and I just came back from Australia. We all fell in love with this dessert, which we could find in almost every restaurant. We ordered it from different restaurants but we love our first experience the best. The texture of the pudding from our first trial was very moist and tasted more dates. I gave this recipe 5 stars because it is worth 5. Everybody raved it. However, I'm going to experiment with more dates and try to make a 6-star recipe for myself. We'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vonda K
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Wonderful recipe. Didn't change a thing besides reducing the sauce part by half. Family loves them. All the ladies at ladies night raved. The guys at work couldn't get enough. And me ... I would say this is one of my favorite puddings. If your concerned about it tasting like dates, two of my children don't like dates but loves this. Also don't be concerned if the mixture is a thinner consistency than muffins. Thanks Lian W for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Delicious! I've been searching for a sticky toffee pudding recipe like the kind I had in Edinburgh and this is pretty darn close. Definitely 5 stars for taste, but 3 stars for the process and amount of dishes you get dirty. As others have stated this would be great for dinner parties since it makes 12 individual servings but if you have some leftover like me, refrigerate the puddings with some sauce on top of each one since it thickens as it cools. Microwave an individual portion and it's just as good as straight from the oven. I served mine with vanilla ice cream. Very, very good but will make only once in a while since each pudding is over 500 calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Excellent recipe, everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I baked this last night for a dinner party and everybody loved it. It was light and moist and the muffin portion was the perfect serving size. I made exactly as the recipe stated. Definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
My husband and I now live in Ireland. This was excellent! I no longer own a food processor, so I simply "cooked" the dates until they were smooth. Having read lots of Sticky Pudding recipes, I desired a thicker sauce. I cooked the sauce to more of a caramel. Removed the puddings from the pan, placed a small amount of sauce in the individual dishes, placed the puddings and poured the sauce over them and let them sit. They were placed back into the oven prior to serving to warm them and the sauce. Exactly how they are "done" over here. Next time I will serve them with a traditional custard as well. Thank you for sharing an easy and great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This is delicious! The sauce is particularly good. Highly recommend. Great for dinner parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal M
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
EXCELLANT. I would recommend this Pudding to anyone!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States