Sticky Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Wow!!! This is a great recipe! The dough is so easy to work with - I didn't change a thing. It's basically a cinnamon roll if you don't add the nuts/raisns/melted butter& brown sugar in the bottom of the pan. If you do, then it's a sticky bun. I doubled the mixture for the inside and I doubled the "sticky bun" bottom of the pan mixture. The rising part takes about 3-4 hours, so cover these with a dish cloth and be patient. While these were baking in the oven I made an icing as if these need any more sweetness, but I just couldn't resist because I was sending these to work with my husband : 3 oz. cream cheese softened, 1 Tbsp butter softened or butter flavored shortening, 1 & 1/2 cups confectioners' sugar, 1/2 tsp. vanilla, 2 Tbsp. milk. Add all the ingredients together and add the milk gradually untill you get the desired consistency. Spread the icing over the sticky buns or cinnamons rolls while they are still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I have made these 3 times within 1 week! They are so good! The dough is easy to work with and makes for a very tender roll...only change I made is extra butter and brown sugar to make more gooey stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARSKESD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This really is a light sweet dough, just a little "biscuity" texture I'm guessing from the all-purp. flour. Took about 3 hours from start to finish cause I let it rise plenty. Very easy dough to work with; I just topped them with Pillsbury Whipped White icing. I also had enough dough left over to make a dozen "cinnamon knots" which only had to bake 10 minutes. Delicious! Next time I will probably double the filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunn, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Milton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Wow, were these good! I used instant yeast and added chopped apple to the filling. As soon as they came out of the oven I poured a simple glaze over them. I'll be sending this recipe to my sister!! Thanks for the great recipe Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexander, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by christinasbakery
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
i made these for a charity bake sale and they were a huge hit! not too difficult to make and tasted just like the kind you get at the bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinasbakery

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I'm going to try these, however, I noticed that everybody is waiting for hours to rise. As a pastry chef, use your oven as a proofing oven. Turn it on, knob or setting at 350, for two minutes, just to get the oven warm. Then turn it off. Rise your rolls in the oven. You'll find that your rolls will rise in about 20 - 30 minutes. I'll review the recipe later when I try it. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TLynn04
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This was my first time working with yeast and making a dough. I was a little nervous but everything turned out great! It is a wonderful dough, easy to work with as well as delicious. If I make these again (which I probably will) I might add a little less butter IN the rolls as a lot of the butter oozed out when rolling the dough up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Should have waited longer for them to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This turned out great using my kitchen aid mixer and following the suggestion of "proofing" my oven at 350 degrees for 2 min. turning it off and then letting the rolls rise in the warm environment. Made the process much faster as my kids were anxious for thier new treat. Excellent and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alimay
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Good recipe, with a rather soft dough...they where a hit when I served them to friends with Tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alimay

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States