Sticky Buns II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I made these for a family dessert and they were a big flop. The filling is too sugary and really not sticky at all. The dough is very sticky, almost like bubble gum, and the flour needed for kneeding and rolling flat the dough gives buns a floury taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I made these initially as a Christmas gift for my boss and told her I'd never make them again - I'm not one for rolling dough. But they were far too good, so a couple days later I made another batch. I would call them more like cinnamon rolls than sticky buns, which doesn't matter to me because they are so good. The only problems I had with the first batch was I didn't use a muffin tin, but a 9x9 pan and the buns fell apart too easily. The first batch also seemed to be a little under done at the 25 minute time, so I extended it two minutes for the second batch. They came out perfect! I used a muffin tin the second time and they were perfectly shaped, plus it seemed less messy to clean up. The key thing for this recipe is flour - when kneading add flour, and be sure you have flour on your rolling surface, hands, and rolling pin. I have never altered the amount of milk added like some other reviewers, I just add enough flour to make the dough more dough-like and less sticky. These disappear quickly in my house, even with people who traditional "claim" they don't like sticky buns/cinnamon rolls. I also definitely recommend eating them right after they cool down from baking since they seem to taste the best right then. I made them once with pecans and a vanilla icing - extremely good and more like a sticky bun. If I didn't hate all the flour mess I get when making these, I would have some in the house everyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
note to self: family didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
A perfect recipe. Use 3/4 milk instead of a whole cup. I also made these VEGAN by using margarine and soymilk. I give this recipe six thumbs up. (Two for each member of my family!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissEisbar

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This is a fantastic and delicious cinnamon roll! I didn't find the dough hard to work with at all - it just needs a little extra flour as you lightly knead it. I put mine in cupcake wrappers to ease the cleaning afterward. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SU-LI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Stephen, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Awful recipe. Sticky dough that did not come together well despite adding more and more flour. Big waste of time and a huge mess. Would not make again. Making yeast buns is worth the trouble and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Yumm! These were great! Because the dough was so wet I did not roll it out but patted it with well floured hands on a floured cutting board to the desired thickness. I then flipped the dough over and patted it again then I spread the bnrown sugar mixture over it and rolled it up . I didn't have any trouble slicing the dough ,however I floured the knife between slices. I also put the rolls in a glass bakeware dish instead of a muffin tin . I then inverted the glass dish onto a large cutting board after cooking the rolls. I will definetly be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
These turned out better then expected. I did come across the same sticky dough problem but I used a ton of flour to kneed and roll and was able to prepare no problems. I made a icing with powdered sugar, vanilla, cream cheese, margarine and a dab of water. The kids loved them and enjoyed helping on a rainy day. Thanks for the great simple recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
great simple recipe that saves time in a camp kitchen with limited oven space.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
These were pretty awesome. The dough really wasn't that hard to work with for me (sticky at first, but after I added more flour it was fine). A lot of the brown sugar filling stuck to the pan (it washed off fairly easily, though), but it turned out absolutely delicious anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ficklepip

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States