Sticky Buns I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
VERY good. totally wrecked my diet for the week ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
1st time I made these was for Easter 2011. I cut the recipe in half. The dough was a little bit sticky but this could have been my error. Didn't rise until after I baked them (I let them sit out for 1 hour and they did not rise - I guess I need to find a warmer place next time). I placed them in the fridge and baked them the next morning. I forgot the raisins since it was not in the instructions, but even with that I thought they were very good. Found these stayed fresh and did not to dry out so quickly even though they sat out a couple of days. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
VERY YUMMY! My family loved these! Definately going to make them again. I had to add more ingredients to make it a lil stickier, but over all was ecellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Yum yum they were good! Using string to cut the roll into pieces works well. -- slide string under the roll where you want to make your first cut. There should be string on both sides of the roll, then pull the 2 ends across each other quickly, cutting the roll with ease! Then move the string over to make your next cut. It's just amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laney Bee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
amazingly soft and decadent! I didn't have buttermilk, but I used whole milk instead. Yeast normally is not my friend, but this time, we were allies and the buns turned out fluffy and soft. The only adjustments I had were: I added more cinnamon and added raisins to give them a little kick since pecans are pricey and unavailable. Also, I rolled the unbaked dough and I placed it in the pan and cut 1.5 inches and I twisted the dough so that the inside rings were facing upward, so it looked like a nice flower. (if that makes sense?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
These were pretty good but not enough gooey sticky stuff, so next time I will add more brown sugar, butter and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
the recipe is very good -- it's better substituting unsalted butter for magarine; and I usually use brown sugar in yeast breads/cakes rather than white sugar -- this shouldn't be a very sweet dough anyway, but the brown sugar lends a less cloying sweetness and nice texture to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
These were so good. I had never made homemade sticky buns before and this was fairly easy for me. I am just a beginner with the yeast doughs, but this was easy and I could not believe I actually made these!! Hubby loved them! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Richmond, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
One packet of yeast contains 2-1/4 tsp. This recipe calls for 2-1/2 tsp. I just used one packet and it worked out fine. I used my Kitchenaid stand mixer instead of kneading by hand. I was concerned on the first rise because it didn't really rise much but I went ahead and rolled the dough out and it was beautiful! After slicing and placing in the pans they rose really well and were practically popping out of the pan. I almost rated 4 stars because there is NOT enough sticky stuff in the bottom of the pan to properly coat the rolls so you really need to increase by 1-1/2 or 2 times the butter/sugar mix. I'd be concerned it would bubble over if you doubled it though so you might want to put foil under the pans while baking. Next time I will also increase the sugar/cinnamon in the center. I'm still rating 5 stars because the dough is just so wonderful. I think the buttermilk makes them so silky. I will definitely make again with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This recipe is sound and produces a fine product, but I never use margarine when I bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States