Sticky Buns I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
One packet of yeast contains 2-1/4 tsp. This recipe calls for 2-1/2 tsp. I just used one packet and it worked out fine. I used my Kitchenaid stand mixer instead of kneading by hand. I was concerned on the first rise because it didn't really rise much but I went ahead and rolled the dough out and it was beautiful! After slicing and placing in the pans they rose really well and were practically popping out of the pan. I almost rated 4 stars because there is NOT enough sticky stuff in the bottom of the pan to properly coat the rolls so you really need to increase by 1-1/2 or 2 times the butter/sugar mix. I'd be concerned it would bubble over if you doubled it though so you might want to put foil under the pans while baking. Next time I will also increase the sugar/cinnamon in the center. I'm still rating 5 stars because the dough is just so wonderful. I think the buttermilk makes them so silky. I will definitely make again with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
My first attempt at sticky buns, and they turned out sinfully delicious! I made as directed, w/out the raisins (I forgot!)Looking back on the recipe, I don't think it says when to add them...but I'm sure I could figure it out. The dough did take quite a while to rise, and was very delicate, I thought, but like I said, first time. Plenty of work, but well worth it. YUM! Will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tappahannock, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
amazingly soft and decadent! I didn't have buttermilk, but I used whole milk instead. Yeast normally is not my friend, but this time, we were allies and the buns turned out fluffy and soft. The only adjustments I had were: I added more cinnamon and added raisins to give them a little kick since pecans are pricey and unavailable. Also, I rolled the unbaked dough and I placed it in the pan and cut 1.5 inches and I twisted the dough so that the inside rings were facing upward, so it looked like a nice flower. (if that makes sense?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
VERY good. totally wrecked my diet for the week ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
VERY YUMMY! My family loved these! Definately going to make them again. I had to add more ingredients to make it a lil stickier, but over all was ecellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
These were so good. I had never made homemade sticky buns before and this was fairly easy for me. I am just a beginner with the yeast doughs, but this was easy and I could not believe I actually made these!! Hubby loved them! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Richmond, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
This was great, i must say i rarely have as much luck as i did in baking these. i did use light margarine instead of regular if somebody else ever thinks of substituting it, it works great. I do however think that these could use more syrup, but that's a personal preference, and the recipe as it is is absolutely fantastic. i left them in the fridge overnight to rise the last time,and popped 'em in the oven in the morning, they had to be some of the lightest softest rolls ive tasted, DEFINITELY worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2000
These are absolutely the best sticky buns I have ever tried!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Yum yum they were good! Using string to cut the roll into pieces works well. -- slide string under the roll where you want to make your first cut. There should be string on both sides of the roll, then pull the 2 ends across each other quickly, cutting the roll with ease! Then move the string over to make your next cut. It's just amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laney Bee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
I work in the emergency room at a local hospital and I made the mistake of taking this in for all to eat. There isn't a day that goes by that someone isn't asking me to please make it again. It was a huge success and so simple to make. I can't say enough good things about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Hope, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States