Stewed Vegetables and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I really enjoy this recipe and it seems to especially hit the spot when I feel a cold coming on. Instead of frozen mixed vegetables I add whatever vegetables I have on hand - a can of corn, fresh asparagus, peppers, etc. A can of black beans or chickpeas also adds a nice extra kick (that I sometimes use in place of the ham).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I did have to increase broth and vegetables. This was extremely good and I appreciate you sharing the recipe. It was so simple to make and was extremely delicious. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
We loved this! I added onion and carrots and replaced the mixed vegetables with frozen corn. A delicious dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Yum. I've made this several times with slight variations and love it each time. One thing I've done is to add more liquid and cook the noodles in with the soup to keep it all in one pot, and it has worked great! This recipe is a great way to use up ham or other meat. It's great with hard-style (not just ground but in casing) sausage or even shrimp... a cross between vegetable soup and gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Delicious. Used petite diced tomatoes and fresh stringbeans. Everyone had seconds. Not a spec left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
i really liked this soup. it was easy and had great taste without all the added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheri busenitz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is the first time i have ever made or had ham soup. I had quite a bit of leftover ham and decided to try this. i modified this quite a bit to accomodate my big family. I double the amount of tomatoes and added 2 cans of tomato soup. I basically tripled the amount of broth, used 1 cup carrots, 1 cut celery, 1 cup peas, 1 cup corn and 1 can green beans. I used 2 cups of noodles and about 2 cups of cubed ham. I felt this was an okay recipe, but lacked a bit in flavour. I added seasoning such as garlic, onion powder, seasoning salt, salt, pepper, italian seasoning..and i also added a bay leaf for a short amount of the cooking time. this is a great basic ham soup recipe that can be tweaked and altered to fit anyones tastes. this would be good to make after a holiday as it can use up a lot of the leftover veggies and ham. You can almost add anything you want to this recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Canadian Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This wasdelicous Added water and garlic to it but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I added water, extra vegetables and chicken broth. It's a new fav in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
great use of leftovers and already in the pantry items. This was great for a cold blustry day. Only change I made was adding about 1/2 a jar of Classico pesto sauce I needed to use it. Made corn bread miffins to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States