Stewed Tomatoes (Gobbledygook) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
An old girlfriend's grandmother used to make this for family get togethers. I had never had it before we started dating 35 years ago and my love affair with the recipe lasted longer than my relationship with the girlfriend! Have tried to replicate it on my own a few times with no success. Glad to find a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJ Probst

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Awesome recipe exactly as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I don't know how to edit my own recipe, so I'll just add this note here: Please use your own discretion on the amount of pepper. I tend to use a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clotho98

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
On second try I cut the sugar to 1/3 cup and lost the pepper. That amount of pepper overwhelmed the dish. Now tastes more sweet/Southern like we eat in VA. Also used Martin's Potato Bread. Very good with slight alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I'm another woman who STILL cannot control the child within. I always thought this dish was a punishment for something I'd done. My mother finally gave up saying she could'nt stand the awful faces I made (they ruined the dish for her and she'd eat anything!) Fast forward 6 decades - Holey moley batman! These taste really good!! Although Mum always put sugar on tomato-anything ( it's a fruit afterall ) I'm pretty sure that she would be perfectly happy with 1/3 C of sugar. in this recipe. Thank you X3!! P.S. I'm pretty sure she's above us all with a satisfied grin on her face.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton Bay, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Yes I tried it and I liked it! I had not heard of baking stewed tomatoes. I substituted fresh garden tomatoes in season for the canned tomatoes and turned out good. You might add a little water when using the fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Centerville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I was hosting my FIL's birthday dinner and decided to make stewed tomatoes, since it's one of his favorite side dishes. Having never made/eaten stewed tomatoes, I wasn't sure what to even look for in a recipe. This one needed a *face*, so it caught my eye. The 2/3C sugar scared me, so I took the advice of prior reviewers and went w/1T and it was perfect! I didn't even think I liked stewed tomatoes and I enjoyed these! THANKS, for the recipe, Clotho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Made this yesterday with some stale french bread needing to be used. It was absolutely delicious. I cut the recipe in half and ate the whole dish. Only change was to saute some onions in the butter and add to the dish. (I eat onions in everything!). Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Making for the 2nd time. Delicious 1st time, hope tonight to be as good! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
this was excellent! used 3 packets of splenda instead of sugar and used 2 large slices of stale rye bread. soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States