Stewed Tomatoes (Gobbledygook) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
tryed recipe yesterday,my wife is a southern girl and raised on stewed tomatoes. followed recipe word for word, she said these are the best. please try it you won't be sorry, and thanks for the recipe.says bacondebaker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
just EXACTLY like I remember eating as a child when my mom would make this! I've tried over the years to make this - but could NOT get the proportions right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I wanted to see if stewed tomatoes are still as discusting as when my mother would force me to eat them as a child. To my surprise, I enjoyed this dish! my mother always used white bread, but I only had 12 grain bread on hand. I halved this recipe, and used only 1 tablespoon sugar. I really liked the 12 grain bread in this, I think I will always use it to make it a tad healthier. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
if you love sweet stewed tomatoes, recipe is PERFECT as written.if you love savory,italian style tomatoes,look elsewhere. only alteration i ever make is using bacon grease to grease the pan.YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This is the second time I have made this dish and each time it is better than the last time. My brother used to make this when he had his restaurant, but this is so much better. Only thing I did was cut the recipe in half. My husband liked it very much also. Makes a great side dish for fried fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I have been trying to make the stewed tomatoes that my Mom used to make and I never got it just right until I made this recipe. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Made this yesterday with some stale french bread needing to be used. It was absolutely delicious. I cut the recipe in half and ate the whole dish. Only change was to saute some onions in the butter and add to the dish. (I eat onions in everything!). Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
These stewed tomatoes were better than the kind my Mom used to make, sorry Mom!! The only thing that I did different was lightly toast the bread. And maybe next time I may add some sauteed onions. Can't wait to make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is unbelievably delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariann Hoydicz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saddle Brook, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I was hosting my FIL's birthday dinner and decided to make stewed tomatoes, since it's one of his favorite side dishes. Having never made/eaten stewed tomatoes, I wasn't sure what to even look for in a recipe. This one needed a *face*, so it caught my eye. The 2/3C sugar scared me, so I took the advice of prior reviewers and went w/1T and it was perfect! I didn't even think I liked stewed tomatoes and I enjoyed these! THANKS, for the recipe, Clotho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States