Stewed Tomatoes (Gobbledygook) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
this was excellent! used 3 packets of splenda instead of sugar and used 2 large slices of stale rye bread. soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
These stewed tomatoes were better than the kind my Mom used to make, sorry Mom!! The only thing that I did different was lightly toast the bread. And maybe next time I may add some sauteed onions. Can't wait to make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
if you love sweet stewed tomatoes, recipe is PERFECT as written.if you love savory,italian style tomatoes,look elsewhere. only alteration i ever make is using bacon grease to grease the pan.YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I wanted to see if stewed tomatoes are still as discusting as when my mother would force me to eat them as a child. To my surprise, I enjoyed this dish! my mother always used white bread, but I only had 12 grain bread on hand. I halved this recipe, and used only 1 tablespoon sugar. I really liked the 12 grain bread in this, I think I will always use it to make it a tad healthier. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is unbelievably delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariann Hoydicz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saddle Brook, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I made this just as shown in recipe, I thougt it was way too sweet and way too peppery. I will make this recipe again, but cut the amount of sugar and pepper way back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Not too bad. I reduced the sugar to 1/4 c and it was still way too sweet. The bread gives it a very "bready" taste so I think I'll try saltines or a mix of both next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Would b a five star but i had to alter the recipe. I cut down the sugar to 2 tablespoons, and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Too sweet. Not like the stewed tomatoes of home. Sorry, won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This is the second time I have made this dish and each time it is better than the last time. My brother used to make this when he had his restaurant, but this is so much better. Only thing I did was cut the recipe in half. My husband liked it very much also. Makes a great side dish for fried fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States