Stewed Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
reduced the water to 1 cup. good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
This was great. i made it for company and they loved it. i added carrots adn a few other veggies for color. i sauted the squash and zucchini and then cut down the water to make more of a casserole. of course i love bacon adn added a little mroe too this was quick adn easy and even my sons loved it since this week they only liked green veggies maybe next time they will only like the yellow ones :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
Very good! I used some Marsala wine instead of water and it turned out great...will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I love this recipe. I used 1 cup of chicken stock in place of the water, added 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper and 1 tsp garlic powder. This gave it a slight kick and my husband who HATES both zucchini and squash ate it up! Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Had a large Easter Dinner, but the big hit with the family was the easiest to make, Your recipe for "Stewed Squash" It really was delicious. I've made it before for my husband & he loved it..Now its a family recipe..Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I had been looking for a recipe that used both yellow squash and zucchini when I came across this one to use as a base. I did change some things. I used 1 can of Rotel Tomatoes instead of water, 4 slices of bacon(precooked and crumbled), 2 yellow squash and 2 zucchini along with 1 chopped onion and seasonings. I cooked it all together in a skillet for about 10 minutes. The dish was a little warm to the taste, but overall pretty good. I might try mild rotel next time. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I was looking for this recipe. Although I didn't know it was called "stewed squash" I am happy to have found it. My mom makes something like this dish. I went the vegan approach w/out bacon and used olive oil. It turned out great. I have never enjoyed squash and zucchini like this before! Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I'm not really a squash eater and neither is my wife, but we tried this out tonight just to try something different and we both loved it. As others have said, I didn't think the water was necessary. After the squash had browned, I added a little just to help the cooking, but that was it. Definitely not the 2 cups. The squash tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I love this dish. I made a few changes. I cooked 4 slices of bacon used the drippings to saute onion and garlic. I then added the bacon, zucchini and squash. Three minutes later I added about 1/4 cup of water, 1 chicken bouillon cube and some garlic and herb seasoning. It simmered for about 10 minutes. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States