Stewed Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I agree with others who noted that if this were to be prepared with the amount of water called for it would be soupy mush. Zucchini and yellow squash already contain a lot of water, so to add any is really unnecessary. So I eliminated the water altogether, added a clove of minced garlic and some sliced mushrooms, and cooked this just until done but still retaining its shape. It turned out beautifully and the bacon was a flavorful addition. Five stars just by skipping the water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
This squash has wonderful flavor. I used pre-cooked bacon pieces and sauteed them with the onions in a tablespoon of olive oil. I also reduced the water to one cup so that it wasn't so "soupy." The squash was great over pasta and then topped with marinara sauce. A good way to give squash some flavor without all the fat of the typical squash casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Had a large Easter Dinner, but the big hit with the family was the easiest to make, Your recipe for "Stewed Squash" It really was delicious. I've made it before for my husband & he loved it..Now its a family recipe..Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
This was great. i made it for company and they loved it. i added carrots adn a few other veggies for color. i sauted the squash and zucchini and then cut down the water to make more of a casserole. of course i love bacon adn added a little mroe too this was quick adn easy and even my sons loved it since this week they only liked green veggies maybe next time they will only like the yellow ones :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I have cooked squash similar to this all my life. However, I never add that much water to squash. Only a small amount is needed, usually just 1/4-1/2 cup if a lot of squash is being cooked. For this small amount of squash do not add more than 2-3 tablespoons otherwise all you will get is tasteless mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I was looking for this recipe. Although I didn't know it was called "stewed squash" I am happy to have found it. My mom makes something like this dish. I went the vegan approach w/out bacon and used olive oil. It turned out great. I have never enjoyed squash and zucchini like this before! Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
We love squash including my one year old so I thought this would be a good way to serve it differently than usual. It was just mush and did not have much flavor which was suprising with the bacon and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dupo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
Very good! I used some Marsala wine instead of water and it turned out great...will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
reduced the water to 1 cup. good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States