Stewed Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I agree with others who noted that if this were to be prepared with the amount of water called for it would be soupy mush. Zucchini and yellow squash already contain a lot of water, so to add any is really unnecessary. So I eliminated the water altogether, added a clove of minced garlic and some sliced mushrooms, and cooked this just until done but still retaining its shape. It turned out beautifully and the bacon was a flavorful addition. Five stars just by skipping the water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I was looking for this recipe. Although I didn't know it was called "stewed squash" I am happy to have found it. My mom makes something like this dish. I went the vegan approach w/out bacon and used olive oil. It turned out great. I have never enjoyed squash and zucchini like this before! Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I had been looking for a recipe that used both yellow squash and zucchini when I came across this one to use as a base. I did change some things. I used 1 can of Rotel Tomatoes instead of water, 4 slices of bacon(precooked and crumbled), 2 yellow squash and 2 zucchini along with 1 chopped onion and seasonings. I cooked it all together in a skillet for about 10 minutes. The dish was a little warm to the taste, but overall pretty good. I might try mild rotel next time. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
We love squash including my one year old so I thought this would be a good way to serve it differently than usual. It was just mush and did not have much flavor which was suprising with the bacon and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dupo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Had a large Easter Dinner, but the big hit with the family was the easiest to make, Your recipe for "Stewed Squash" It really was delicious. I've made it before for my husband & he loved it..Now its a family recipe..Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
Very good! I used some Marsala wine instead of water and it turned out great...will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
This was great. i made it for company and they loved it. i added carrots adn a few other veggies for color. i sauted the squash and zucchini and then cut down the water to make more of a casserole. of course i love bacon adn added a little mroe too this was quick adn easy and even my sons loved it since this week they only liked green veggies maybe next time they will only like the yellow ones :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
reduced the water to 1 cup. good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
This squash has wonderful flavor. I used pre-cooked bacon pieces and sauteed them with the onions in a tablespoon of olive oil. I also reduced the water to one cup so that it wasn't so "soupy." The squash was great over pasta and then topped with marinara sauce. A good way to give squash some flavor without all the fat of the typical squash casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States