Stewed Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Before adding the onion and bacon I smoked them for about 1/2 hour over applewood chips using high heat. Smoked up some garlic cloves while I was at it. Otherwise, cook as above without any added water. The smoke gave the dish just the right amount of back woodsy finish while still keeping the squash as the primary flavor. Very well received by all at our Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I love this dish. I made a few changes. I cooked 4 slices of bacon used the drippings to saute onion and garlic. I then added the bacon, zucchini and squash. Three minutes later I added about 1/4 cup of water, 1 chicken bouillon cube and some garlic and herb seasoning. It simmered for about 10 minutes. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I'm not really a squash eater and neither is my wife, but we tried this out tonight just to try something different and we both loved it. As others have said, I didn't think the water was necessary. After the squash had browned, I added a little just to help the cooking, but that was it. Definitely not the 2 cups. The squash tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
A great recipe for farmers market-fresh veggies! I added minced garlic and used a seasoned salt for a little more flavor. Though I didn't find the TWO cups of water to be necessary, I did add a couple splashes to the pan to help the cooking along. I think since I had small, likely younger squash and zucchini, they didn't seem to release as much of their own liquid and it was taking awhile to cook, so the water helped that move along a little faster. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This was good, very simple. I also did not add the water, definitely not necessary! Also added some Italian spice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Way too much water!!!! It is SO fine without the water. Squash has a lot of water in it naturally. So, in my opinion, no water necessary at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I have cooked squash similar to this all my life. However, I never add that much water to squash. Only a small amount is needed, usually just 1/4-1/2 cup if a lot of squash is being cooked. For this small amount of squash do not add more than 2-3 tablespoons otherwise all you will get is tasteless mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Doubled the bacon, cut out the water, used 1/2 cup chicken stock instead (homemade with NO salt). Husband rather liked it; I thought it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I love this recipe. I used 1 cup of chicken stock in place of the water, added 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper and 1 tsp garlic powder. This gave it a slight kick and my husband who HATES both zucchini and squash ate it up! Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Not bad but there are other squash recipes that we prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States