Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
My family loved this recipe, I used another viewer suggestion and added caraway seeds. Also I added some polish sausage to the top when it had 20 minutes left and we served it over rice. It was a complete meal and tasted wonderful! Served with a side of homemade chunky applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
First I have to say I like my cabbage with butter, salt and pepper; the true simple “COMFORT FOOD” way; add some "smash on your plate" boiled potatoes and I'm a happy camper. This is now my 2nd favorite cabbage recipe; and sorry... although you health conscious eaters may cringe… the butter is a MUST! Since I don't care for the sweetness of stewed tomatoes, I used a large can of whole plum tomatoes (chopped), along with the juice. I also upper the celery (2 ribs), added 1/2 a medium green pepper (diced), 1/2 a can of water, and a sprinkle of oregano.... delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I love this recipe and have made it for years. My mom made it when we were growing up and she always fried some cut up bacon and then added the onions, celery and garlic when the bacon was nearly done. The bacon gives it a great flavor and goes well with the other ingredients. It's a meal I always look forward to putting on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Delicious! I would cut down on the butter. Other than that, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
So simple and yet so tasty. I loved it and so did DH!!! :-) Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Great side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Howland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Great low carb version of pasta. I add a little bit of red pepper flake for heat and top with a little bit of feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Very good. I used this as a jumping-off point for a Middle Eastern interpretation. I added about 2tbsp of zataar, a LOT of garlic, a can of chick peas, and about a tbsp of harisa. Simmered for probably half an hour until the tomatoes had sweetened up. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I made mine with chicken broth instead of butter to save on calories and added a pound of lean hamburger to make a full meal out of it. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
My first real disappointment with recipes found on this site. I selected it for my cabbage loving husband who likes cabbage so much he was stealing some raw pieces while I was cutting it. First it would not soften, I had to add water( so it would not burn)and keep cooking it; then the next day(yes I had to fix something else in a hurry for that evening)when my husband tasted it, he could stand only a bite or two he asked why it was so sour( I did not change the recipe). I finally threw away all of it. Pretty upsetting when it was made with a really fresh organic cabbage which was delicious raw, I would have made it in coleslaw if I could find a recipe for the coleslaw dressing like they serve in Long John Silver, my husband likes that one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States