Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This recipe was very good. I did add about 3 tbsp of red wine vinegar to give it a little twist. Turned out really good. And I didn't any butter. Made it a few times and once I used bacon fat. The next time I used olive oil and both times it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I make this all the time as a side dish. The recipe (okay, stewing in general) is very forgiving, so don't worry too much about portions or ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Guerra
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I was looking for something like a comfort food for the winter and couldn't find exactly what I was looking for. After reading some of the other reviews, I improvised and put in a lot of additional stuff but the kitchen sink, including ground mustard, celery seed, caraway seeds, some cut up carrots, potatoes, apple cider vinegar & homemade raspberry vinegar. Seasoned to taste with seasoned salt & pepper, and turned out to be what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Pretty yummy! I never liked stewed tomatoes growing up, but I enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I really didn't understand this dish. I only had 1/2 cabbage, so I cut the recipe in half. Other than that I followed it exactly. After I added the stewed tomatoes, 20 minutes later the dish was dry. I covered it and used the exact temperature listed. So, I decided to add the full can for half the recipe. I added the salt and pepper and tasted it, and it doesn't have much flavor. I will have to add some seasonings and see what I can do. I have eaten steamed cabbage that even seemed to have more flavor. Not sure what happened with this one. I liked the idea of all of the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Like this one a lot. Add some sausage if you want some meat in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goosemonkey
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This is a terrific inexpensive recipe! I used olive oil instead of butter and it was super tasty, I imagine it would be OUT OF THIS WORLD as written( with butter). This was an excellent way to use up the cabbage I purchased on "st. Patrick's day" special. Delicate, balanced, DELICIOUS! Many thanks Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Recipe as written is lacking salt. I had to add some to my recipe. The final product was still lacking overall flavor. It needs some spices or something. Another reviewer added bacon which sounds delicious, however, since I am vegetarian, that isn't an option for me. Not sure why this recipe is 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I bought cabbage on a whim and realized I had no clue what to do with it. I found this recipe and it was wonderful! I had always heard how stewed cabbage is really good but didn't know it would taste like this. It was wonderful, thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States