Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would. I had made this twice, and it is absolutely delicious! I am a cabbage lover, and now this is my favorite way of preparing and eating it. Only things I did different, I doubled the recipe to make a large pot, so I used 2 large cans of stewed tomatoes, ( I love tomatoes too) 2 heads of cabbage, and added a splash of olive oil. This turned out great! If you like a little more sauce or just love tomatoes, I recommend adding the extra stewed tomatoes. I served this over homemade mashed potatoes, and just served right out of a bowl without anything, and had many compliments. I could eat this dish every day! I will definitely use this recipe very often! Thanks Kim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Very yummy! I put a serious dash of balsamic vinegar in while it was cooking the first 15 minutes (before the tomatoes were added). I put in about 2x as many tomatoes as called for since I read earlier reviews recommending more tomatoes. Also, it was pretty dry-looking so I added about 1 cup of chicken broth and simmered it all until the liquid was mostly gone. Even my 3-year-old said he liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I cooked 1 lb of ground pork sausage with the onion and garlic and made the dish a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Very good, but probably could use more tomatoes to balance the amount of cabbage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
As good as cabbage can get. Here are my changes: added sliced smoked sausage, doubled garlic, omitted celery and added a can of diced seasoned tomatoes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
this is a great comfort food recipe. i added worcestshire and some gr. bison. it was really good and i served it with some hot rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by retrocookinmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Nothing earth-shattering but good, cheap, comfort food. I added bacon instead of the butter and added some caraway. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
A fairly simple recipe that fits the bill and is conveniently vegan. Somewhat bland, although can be spiced up with additional vinegar (rosewine or basalmic worked well) and a bit of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I added 80% lean turkey sausage which I sauteed first, and used spicy seasoned salt. Next time I will omit the celery as a matter of personal preference, as I don't think it added anything to the flavor of the cabbage. Overall good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This dish has become a favorite at our house. Everyone raves about it -- even people who swore they hated cabbage. Usually I sautee sliced sweet Italian sausage and add a bit of anise seed. Which makes a darned good dish. This evening, I was feeling a little adventuresome and wanted something more spicy. And seasoned the pot with basil, rosemary and thyme. Then, I added a can of Wye River crab soup at the end and heated through. Oh my gosh -- my husband thought he'd died and gone to heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States