Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Wonderful - for me, a trip back to my childhood. Excellent flavors - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This is the first time I have ever made anything with cabbage! The only thing I've ever eaten that had cabbage in it is egg rolls, so hence, my apprehension with this type of vegetable. I decided with St. Patty's Day that I would try something new and I picked this recipe. I actually had to go to work that night, so my husband and son got to eat it fresh. They really liked it. I ate it two days later and it was still really, really good! The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is because, well, I don't have much experience with cabbage. But I will definitely make this one again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASSEROLECOOK

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is an awesome recipe, it was delicious and a big hit at a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
One of my favorites for years now. I plan on trying it with a little bacon in the pan to see if that bumps the flavor up even more. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I spiced it up a bit with Rotel along with the stewed tomatoes and also added some cayanne, red pepper flakes and some spicy sausage. I also doubled the garlic and celery. Had to use bacon drippings also, (It is a southern thing) My picky eaters curled up their noses while cooking. But they ended up loving it. My sister-in-law was visiting while I was cooking and she said she hated cabbage. She tasted it and loved it! She said that I should be proud, as that was the first cabbage that she has ever eaten because of the smell. Great recipe! I love making new dishes and the "I told you so!" factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texacajunette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Neches, Texas, USA
Living In: Nederland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
A really terriffic recipe. Loved the flavor. I used olive oil instead of butter. And only a touch. I also used fire roasted tomatoes instead of just plain.. really gave it a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
It was okay. There wasn't anything spectacular about it. It is just a different way of flavoring cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Delicious! Mom always added cubed kielbassa to hew cabbage stew so i did too..yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Delicious! I've prepared this for dinner tonight and added a couple of splashes of hot sauce for some kick as well as sliced kielbasa. I may serve this with some rice, and will definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was very good! After reading some reviews, I made some changes; some I would do again, others I wouldn't. I added balsamic vinegar while the vegetables were stewing (good), some tabasco sauce (good), and I added a zucchini that I wanted to use up (good). I unfortunately doubled the tomatoes which was bad, as there way too much liquid. Next time I will add basil and oregano b/c it could use more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States