Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
We followed the recipe that was given. It was good, but not enough flavor for our pallet. We are going to try it again, but this time we will double the sauté ingredients. Even talked about adding some sausage. Will let you know. Greatest point is we have people we know who vegetarian, and now we can invite them to dinner with something we have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
My mother often made a polish dish that is almost the same: I cooked the bacon and drained all but 1-2TB of the bacon grease to cook the onion, (no celery) and then stirred in the chopped cabbage. I used 1 can of stewed tomatoes (with garlic and olive oil), salt and pepper, 1/2 tsp caraway seeds, 1/2 cup of salsa, 1 tsp each of sugar and vinegar and a large pinch of crushed red pepper, for extra flavour and bite. Bring to a simmer, add 1 lb smoked turkey meat, cut into chunks, and let it simmer over low heat for 45 min - 1 hr or until tender (Kielbasa is good too). We also add a little sour cream to top it, after serving. Yuuuuummmmmmmmyyy. It's very good over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was darn good! It took a little longer (I like my cabbage soft) but it tasted like a pasta dish. Served it to company with kielbasa w beer sauce and pierogis on the side, we were licking our plates clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I made this on New Years Day for My skeptical family. They were not crazy about cabbage with tomatoes.... Well They LOVED it!!!! Making it again for the second time in two weeks. I doubled the recipe for our large family and used one can of plain stewed tomato and one with garlic,basil, oregano....... Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish. He is on a vegetable and fruit diet due to cancer. He really liked this one. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Fantastic recipe!! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This is very good. Even DH liked it. Made as written but had no bell peppers or celery, so used some celery seeds and a can of hunts stewed tomatoes with celery and bell peppers. Excellent side dish. thank you for sharing this. This will be a frequent dish at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Great recipe, but I'll admit that I used it more for inspiration and changed it a bit. I didn't have celery, so I substituted in some mushrooms in the place of celery. I also added two fresh tomatoes along with beef broth instead of using canned tomatoes. I'm big on herbs and added bay leaf and parsley too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
hearty and delicious.. has become a regular in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Tasty recipe! Instead of stewed tomatoes I used 2 T of tomato paste added some fennel seeds. Used electric skillet and sauted the celery and onion and added some bell pepper with veggie broth. Really nice flavor and simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States