Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This was fine, but I thought it needed more flavor. I wound up putting salad dressing on some of it and I liked it better that way, although it wasn't terrible on its own. It's not good enough for me to make again. The reviewers who added bacon were on the right track, I think, because that would probably make this much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
We followed the recipe that was given. It was good, but not enough flavor for our pallet. We are going to try it again, but this time we will double the sauté ingredients. Even talked about adding some sausage. Will let you know. Greatest point is we have people we know who vegetarian, and now we can invite them to dinner with something we have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
My mother often made a polish dish that is almost the same: I cooked the bacon and drained all but 1-2TB of the bacon grease to cook the onion, (no celery) and then stirred in the chopped cabbage. I used 1 can of stewed tomatoes (with garlic and olive oil), salt and pepper, 1/2 tsp caraway seeds, 1/2 cup of salsa, 1 tsp each of sugar and vinegar and a large pinch of crushed red pepper, for extra flavour and bite. Bring to a simmer, add 1 lb smoked turkey meat, cut into chunks, and let it simmer over low heat for 45 min - 1 hr or until tender (Kielbasa is good too). We also add a little sour cream to top it, after serving. Yuuuuummmmmmmmyyy. It's very good over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was darn good! It took a little longer (I like my cabbage soft) but it tasted like a pasta dish. Served it to company with kielbasa w beer sauce and pierogis on the side, we were licking our plates clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I made this on New Years Day for My skeptical family. They were not crazy about cabbage with tomatoes.... Well They LOVED it!!!! Making it again for the second time in two weeks. I doubled the recipe for our large family and used one can of plain stewed tomato and one with garlic,basil, oregano....... Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish. He is on a vegetable and fruit diet due to cancer. He really liked this one. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Fantastic recipe!! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This is very good. Even DH liked it. Made as written but had no bell peppers or celery, so used some celery seeds and a can of hunts stewed tomatoes with celery and bell peppers. Excellent side dish. thank you for sharing this. This will be a frequent dish at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Great recipe, but I'll admit that I used it more for inspiration and changed it a bit. I didn't have celery, so I substituted in some mushrooms in the place of celery. I also added two fresh tomatoes along with beef broth instead of using canned tomatoes. I'm big on herbs and added bay leaf and parsley too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
hearty and delicious.. has become a regular in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States