Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was OK. I really love cabbage and was excited about this recipe, but I prefer just plain cabbage with s&p. I think this recipe has such a high rating because many people added some sort of meat to theirs, which, of course, would make it delicious. But, as a vegetarian dish, it is missing a certain something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Who would have thought that cabbage could taste so good? This was outstanding! I will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Cooked this in addition with Chicken Cordon Bleu (from this site) for yesterday's dinner and it was fabulous. Never thought of adding tomatoes to cabbage but am glad I did, but I used sun dried tomatoes which made them oh so tasty. I also left out the celery which I am not a fan of and cooked it in beef broth. I cooked a few slices of maple bacon along with the onions prior to inserting the cabbage. Great website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearli7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
My husband doesn't even like cabbage and he devoured it! We are vegan so we didn't add the butter but used olive oil instead and it came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Delicious! my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This is delicious just the way the recipie is. It calls for a 1/4 stick of butter so maybe it's not super healthy but I think some cabbage is better than none. Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASPENWALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
My mother made a dish similar to this that was out of this world. She cooked the cabbage with a HALF can of tomatoes, a large sweet onion and pork ribs or kielbasa on low for at least an hour (the cabbage was very limp). She then made a rue browning flour with butter and added that to thicken it and served it over mashed potatoes. One thing that will ruin it though is too much tomato. My daughter struggled trying to make this and could never get it the way she remembered it. When we finally made it together, the problem was too much tomato. I would highly recommend only 1/2 can or it will dilute the cabbage flavor. Wonderful. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was fantastic! Simple and so tasty! I took some to work and everyone who tried it asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Loved it! I added a can of Italian-style diced tomatoes and some fresh basil. Really good cabbage recipe. Great as a side dish. At some beans or crumbled tofu for a vegetarian main dish. As others have said, it would also be great with some kielbasa or ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Simple and delicious, my fiancé absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stopsz

Displaying results 71-80 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States