Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
A little bland, I had to add a lot of spices. Also, I added another can of tomatoes. Added sliced Italian sausage at the end. Pretty good with a few changes....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
For me this was a nice change from the way I usually make cabbage. Liked the addition of the tomatoes and gets better as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I added bacon to this, which added some serious flavor. Great base recipe--reminds me of a similar dish my parents made growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I love love love this!I added 1 Jal. pepper,so good .Ty you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I've made this twice and it's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terese The Novelist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I made this with a couple of strips of bacon instead of the butter (fried up the bacon, used that fat instead of butter) but otherwise stayed pretty true to the recipe. It was kind of boring, to be honest. I kept WANTING it to be worth 4.5 stars, but, alas, it never was. OK, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was delicious! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was quite good. I had to make a slight adjustment, though, because I didn't have all the ingredients. I used a bag of frozen onion, celery, and carrot blend instead of the onions and celery. I followed the provided directions, and tasted it while the tomatoes were simmering. As is, it is a good recipe, and would have earned 5 stars had I left it be. I decided I wanted soup, though, so I added a can of vegetable broth and continued to simmer. That was good as well. Thanks for a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This was wonderful. I just happened to have some Benton's bacon from breakfast already prepared, so I used about 3 tablespoons of the drippings with 1 tablespoon butter. My guests asked for the recipe ~ a good sign. Served it with "Best Ever Brisket" and "Easy Polenta With Tomato Sauce". All Recipes is my go-to source these days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChattTraveler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
i had some left over cabbage so this recipe was perfect for me.I just made a few adjustments.used olive oil instead of butter.used 1 onion and some colorful bell peppers.I sauted onions and bell peppers with olive oil then added cut cabbage and poured in diced tomatoes with juice.seasoned with salt and pepper and a dash of cumin and added 1/2 cup of water,cooked till cabbage was tender enough to eat.turned out awesoooome.paired it with beef cubes cooked in brown sauce. its light,bell peppers gave it a kick and my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States