Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Recipe as written is lacking salt. I had to add some to my recipe. The final product was still lacking overall flavor. It needs some spices or something. Another reviewer added bacon which sounds delicious, however, since I am vegetarian, that isn't an option for me. Not sure why this recipe is 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I bought cabbage on a whim and realized I had no clue what to do with it. I found this recipe and it was wonderful! I had always heard how stewed cabbage is really good but didn't know it would taste like this. It was wonderful, thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was really good! My husband even liked it, and he isn't the biggest fan of cabbage dishes. I added a little seasoned salt to it, and it was delish!! I halved the recipe and it still a lot. Will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This recipe is OK. It's not the best cabbage I've ever had, but not the worst either (by a long shot--there are some truly awful recipes out there!). I added a bit of nutmeg that I grated myself (this is one of those things that I won't use pre-ground). It added a nice touch. I just grated it right over the pot, but it was probably about 1/4 tsp. Warning the cooking time at the top of the recipe is calculated incorrectly. The directions of the recipe are accurate, though. If you add up the times in the directions the cook time is more like one hour, not 40 minutes. Finally, in the first step, I went with the short end of the time because the celery and onions will continue to soften during the rest of the cooking. So, I cooked onions and celery for about 2 minutes, then added the chopped garlic for the last minute (don't cook garlic the full time or it may burn and get bitter). Again, not my favorite recipe, but I will likely make it again because I'm always looking for a variety of ways to get cabbage in my diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
My family loved this recipe, I used another viewer suggestion and added caraway seeds. Also I added some polish sausage to the top when it had 20 minutes left and we served it over rice. It was a complete meal and tasted wonderful! Served with a side of homemade chunky applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
First I have to say I like my cabbage with butter, salt and pepper; the true simple “COMFORT FOOD” way; add some "smash on your plate" boiled potatoes and I'm a happy camper. This is now my 2nd favorite cabbage recipe; and sorry... although you health conscious eaters may cringe… the butter is a MUST! Since I don't care for the sweetness of stewed tomatoes, I used a large can of whole plum tomatoes (chopped), along with the juice. I also upper the celery (2 ribs), added 1/2 a medium green pepper (diced), 1/2 a can of water, and a sprinkle of oregano.... delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I love this recipe and have made it for years. My mom made it when we were growing up and she always fried some cut up bacon and then added the onions, celery and garlic when the bacon was nearly done. The bacon gives it a great flavor and goes well with the other ingredients. It's a meal I always look forward to putting on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Delicious! I would cut down on the butter. Other than that, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
So simple and yet so tasty. I loved it and so did DH!!! :-) Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Great side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Howland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States