Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
With modifications, this recipe is a 5 star! I would think without the changes that it would be pretty bland. I made mine into a meal by adding meat and rice and it was delicious! This is what I changed....fried sliced kielbasa in 3T butter. Added the onion, celery and changed the garlic to 4 cloves minced. Did add 4 large spoonfuls of chicken broth to the cabbage during the simmer stage. Added 2 cans of Italian stewed tomatoes (cut my tomotoes into bite size pieces), 10 oz sliced fresh mushrooms, 2 pinches of thyme, Red Hot hot sauce, salt and pepper. I had some leftover rice that I threw in at the end and it was delicious! I also only cooked it approx 15 minutes covered as my cabbage was good and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This is an all-around great recipe! I added 1 1/2 tbsp of Better Than Bouillon, Chicken flavored to the recipe and it only enhanced the flavor. My kids love it and everyone who's tasted it loves it. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Terrific! I absolutely loved it. I thought that it would be bland, but the stewed tomatoes made it very sweet. I might try italian stewed tomatoes next time. I did add some bacon pieces, because that's the way my husband likes it (I prefer not). But it was still very good. I did as one suggested and used 1/2 butter and 1/2 canola oil. I cut the simmer time to 10 minutes and the cooking time from 30-35 to 15 minutes simply because I like my veggies not so mushy. Great recipe and I can see that it's very versatile. I made 1/2 the recipe and it was perfect for 2 adults and 1 child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Just made this recipe today to go along with a pork roast and everyone thorougly enjoyed it. Quick and easy. Mild flavor and all of the ingredients go together well. For those who like a little heat, a few drops of tabasco or other hot sauce goes well in this dish. Rather than use 1/4 cup butter, I used half that (2 tbsp) plus 2 tbsp canola oil with no problems. Also, if this is four servings, they are large servings. In my opinion, if eating this as a side dish, it's closer to 6 or 8 servings (but served with some good cornbread, this would make a good, cheap meal.) This is a keeper and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
We don't make cabbage often so this was a nice change. I didn't have stewed tomatoes so I used two cans of diced tomatoes and added some italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would. I had made this twice, and it is absolutely delicious! I am a cabbage lover, and now this is my favorite way of preparing and eating it. Only things I did different, I doubled the recipe to make a large pot, so I used 2 large cans of stewed tomatoes, ( I love tomatoes too) 2 heads of cabbage, and added a splash of olive oil. This turned out great! If you like a little more sauce or just love tomatoes, I recommend adding the extra stewed tomatoes. I served this over homemade mashed potatoes, and just served right out of a bowl without anything, and had many compliments. I could eat this dish every day! I will definitely use this recipe very often! Thanks Kim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Very yummy! I put a serious dash of balsamic vinegar in while it was cooking the first 15 minutes (before the tomatoes were added). I put in about 2x as many tomatoes as called for since I read earlier reviews recommending more tomatoes. Also, it was pretty dry-looking so I added about 1 cup of chicken broth and simmered it all until the liquid was mostly gone. Even my 3-year-old said he liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I cooked 1 lb of ground pork sausage with the onion and garlic and made the dish a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Very good, but probably could use more tomatoes to balance the amount of cabbage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
As good as cabbage can get. Here are my changes: added sliced smoked sausage, doubled garlic, omitted celery and added a can of diced seasoned tomatoes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States