Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I spiced it up a bit with Rotel along with the stewed tomatoes and also added some cayanne, red pepper flakes and some spicy sausage. I also doubled the garlic and celery. Had to use bacon drippings also, (It is a southern thing) My picky eaters curled up their noses while cooking. But they ended up loving it. My sister-in-law was visiting while I was cooking and she said she hated cabbage. She tasted it and loved it! She said that I should be proud, as that was the first cabbage that she has ever eaten because of the smell. Great recipe! I love making new dishes and the "I told you so!" factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texacajunette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Neches, Texas, USA
Living In: Nederland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
A really terriffic recipe. Loved the flavor. I used olive oil instead of butter. And only a touch. I also used fire roasted tomatoes instead of just plain.. really gave it a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
It was okay. There wasn't anything spectacular about it. It is just a different way of flavoring cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Delicious! Mom always added cubed kielbassa to hew cabbage stew so i did too..yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Delicious! I've prepared this for dinner tonight and added a couple of splashes of hot sauce for some kick as well as sliced kielbasa. I may serve this with some rice, and will definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was very good! After reading some reviews, I made some changes; some I would do again, others I wouldn't. I added balsamic vinegar while the vegetables were stewing (good), some tabasco sauce (good), and I added a zucchini that I wanted to use up (good). I unfortunately doubled the tomatoes which was bad, as there way too much liquid. Next time I will add basil and oregano b/c it could use more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Love this recipe. I have made it a few times now. The second time I made it I added browned hamburger & rice and it tasted like pigs in a blanket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
THIS IS OKAY, BUT SEEMED LIKED IT WAS MISSING SOMETHING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
tastes great hot or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I used Italian stewed tomatoes for more flavour and overall this was a good, healthy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States