Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
My mother made a dish similar to this that was out of this world. She cooked the cabbage with a HALF can of tomatoes, a large sweet onion and pork ribs or kielbasa on low for at least an hour (the cabbage was very limp). She then made a rue browning flour with butter and added that to thicken it and served it over mashed potatoes. One thing that will ruin it though is too much tomato. My daughter struggled trying to make this and could never get it the way she remembered it. When we finally made it together, the problem was too much tomato. I would highly recommend only 1/2 can or it will dilute the cabbage flavor. Wonderful. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was fantastic! Simple and so tasty! I took some to work and everyone who tried it asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Loved it! I added a can of Italian-style diced tomatoes and some fresh basil. Really good cabbage recipe. Great as a side dish. At some beans or crumbled tofu for a vegetarian main dish. As others have said, it would also be great with some kielbasa or ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Simple and delicious, my fiancé absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stopsz
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This dish was surprisingly good! I'm generally not a fan of cabbage but received a small head of it in my bi-weekly farmer's market delivery and couldn't let it go to waste! Rather than use the full amount of butter I added 1/4 cup of vegetable broth and 1 tbsp of butter... I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Ok, I'm Irish and I adore cabbage, so for me this recipe is to die for. I didn't change a thing, served with Pork Roast with Thyme from this site and mashed potatoes. Entire family loved this dish, my 14 year old son had two big helpings. I can't wait to eat the leftovers for lunch. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Industry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This freezes well!! Make up a BIG POT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This recipe is outstanding! I substituted EVOO for the butter, added a total of 4 celery stalks, and 4 cloves of garlic (all favorite ingredients) and it was excellent! VERY simple to make, doesn't require a lot of attention while cooking and presents beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Pretty good. Goes great with white rice. Followed the suggestions and added crumbled bacon on top. The bacon's saltiness really added to the dish, which is a little bland. Red pepper flakes also gave it a nice kick. I think next time, I'm either going to add more bacon or make this with kielbasa for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Made with fire roasted crushed tomatoes because that's all i had in hand. Tasty with crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States