Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Loved it, but used two slices of applewood smoked bacon instead of butter. Turned out great. I do serve it over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I will definitely make this recipe again! All of the ingredients were right here on hand in my kitchen. I used the advice of an earlier reviewer and added ground sausage to the onions an celery, cooked them together, added minced garlic, cabbage, and then a can of whole roma peeled tomatoes and juice. I also added a tablespoon of pesto, a tablespoon of hidden valley ranch seasoning, and salt/pepper. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Delicious! Great with a dash of hot sauce served with kielbasa! Mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This was good, but needed something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Elias

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I really enjoyed this! I used a full head of cabbage, added an additional stalk of celery, and used 3 cloves garlic. After reading other reviews, I also added some thyme and oregano, 1/2 pkg real bacon pieces, and 1/2 cup of beef broth to the mixture while simmering. Covered, I cooked it for an hour, stirring occasionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Wow! This dish got my husband to admit he likes cabbage! The sugar from the tomatoes kind of carmelizes in the pan for a great flavor. No need to change anything. Stir periodically in the last step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I love it. so easy to make my whole family love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This is one of my favorites!! I love it!! I do add beans (navy, pinto, or black-eyed peas) to add some protein. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
My family and friends loved it. Make it all the time know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anielka84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
It is so close to how my mother made it. She would use canned whole tomatoes slightly diced and a can of whole kernel corn. Then add cooked rice to the finished product once it was all cooked. We called it chopped up cabbage roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States