Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
It is so close to how my mother made it. She would use canned whole tomatoes slightly diced and a can of whole kernel corn. Then add cooked rice to the finished product once it was all cooked. We called it chopped up cabbage roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Very good recipe. I added a little water, because I wasn't sure there was enough liquid for the 40 minutes I steamed the cabbage. I didn't leave anything out but added some smoked paprika and some cumin and dried thyme (all in moderation). It turned out really well, and my almost teenaged daughter liked it served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris Jordan
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I used non dairy butter and I added chicken broth to add juice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Super delicious and so simple to make. I added a bay leaf and thyme because I like spice but other than that followed it to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I love cabbage, I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Lee Gunn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This was fine, but I thought it needed more flavor. I wound up putting salad dressing on some of it and I liked it better that way, although it wasn't terrible on its own. It's not good enough for me to make again. The reviewers who added bacon were on the right track, I think, because that would probably make this much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
We followed the recipe that was given. It was good, but not enough flavor for our pallet. We are going to try it again, but this time we will double the sauté ingredients. Even talked about adding some sausage. Will let you know. Greatest point is we have people we know who vegetarian, and now we can invite them to dinner with something we have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
My mother often made a polish dish that is almost the same: I cooked the bacon and drained all but 1-2TB of the bacon grease to cook the onion, (no celery) and then stirred in the chopped cabbage. I used 1 can of stewed tomatoes (with garlic and olive oil), salt and pepper, 1/2 tsp caraway seeds, 1/2 cup of salsa, 1 tsp each of sugar and vinegar and a large pinch of crushed red pepper, for extra flavour and bite. Bring to a simmer, add 1 lb smoked turkey meat, cut into chunks, and let it simmer over low heat for 45 min - 1 hr or until tender (Kielbasa is good too). We also add a little sour cream to top it, after serving. Yuuuuummmmmmmmyyy. It's very good over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was darn good! It took a little longer (I like my cabbage soft) but it tasted like a pasta dish. Served it to company with kielbasa w beer sauce and pierogis on the side, we were licking our plates clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I made this on New Years Day for My skeptical family. They were not crazy about cabbage with tomatoes.... Well They LOVED it!!!! Making it again for the second time in two weeks. I doubled the recipe for our large family and used one can of plain stewed tomato and one with garlic,basil, oregano....... Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States