Steve's Famous Garlic Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I followed the recipe as written with one exception ~ used a bit of minced onion I had on-hand, instead of chives (because I forgot to buy some). I cooked it in a large cast iron skillet, and it turned out PERFECT!!! Crispy on the outside, tender on the inside. Very good, and easy !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Very good! These really paired well with a chicken dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I've made these a few times, but made a couple changes each time. The first time I made them, the only thing different was to use more garlic and cut the potatoes into small cubes so they cook faster. Came out great, but I actually prefer to use olive oil (and maybe just a pat of butter), double the garlic and also add some dried thyme. Very simple but tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
These had pretty good flavor. I made some changes to the heat though. I basically followed the recipe except at the end, I did not cook them on high heat for 10 minutes. If I would have done that, they would have been completely scorched. So, I cooked them on medium low for 10 minutes instead. I really enjoyed the favor though. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Teese are great fries! Easy to prepare, turned out just as expected. A good non stick pan makes indeed the difference. Great side dish, I will do them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Followed the recipe as written but would season it a little more next time but I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
quite good. made some changes: parboiled the potatoes, replaced the black pepper with cyene pepper n placed them under the grill. will make again. thnks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Excellent! Only substitution was chopped red onion for the chives, since I didn't have any. Also doubled the garlic. Cut the potatoes pretty small so they'd actually cook in about 30 minutes. Going to try 1/2 EVOO and 1/2 butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This is a great recipe and just what I was looking for. I had a small, very ripe tomato from the garden that I diced up and put in as well as 2 leftover pieces of bacon. What a treat!!! Thanks for the base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IAgardener55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Making the potatoes is quite a long process, but it is worth it. They were delicious and a new family favorite. Oh and I used baby reds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bordertown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States