Steve's Famous Garlic Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Nice recipe but it needs some tweaking because the potatoes started to burn. 15 minutes was to long. I added onions and peppers with the rest of the ingredients. They were tender after coming for 5 minutes, any longer they will burn. The seasoning was on point. I will be making again with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayah0721

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Great recipe. Have to turn the potatoes often enough so one side doesnt crisp too fast. I added sone water near the end so the potatoes could get a little more tender as well as some chunky salsa go add more flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I literally just finished cooking these and they are the BEST!!! Simple, easy and delicious. You can't go wrong, the paprika gave it a taste of perfection. I will certainly make these again. Love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Absolutely delicious, my family and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly except I used 3 cloves of garlic and Yukon golds. I have to say they are very tasty but WAY too buttery, I wish I only used 1/2 as much as the recipe calls for.Oh well I will work out real hard tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by surfmamajen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Good but didn't leave me wanting more. I love garlic but not sure it blended well with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This is how I always make my fried potatoes. And I don't use a non-stick pan. I use a well-seasoned cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I like the way a cast iron pan makes the potatoes as crispy as you want...non-stick can't do that as well. I always use a mild olive oil..doesn't burn & is healthy. I also love the taste of carmelized onions. I add thickly diced onions with the potatoes & cook slowly. If you like fresh garlic, it needs to be added towards the end of cooking...maybe 10 minutes. You need to use a metal spatula to scrape up the crispies as they cook. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Good recipe that I've used for years...Except... Partially cooking the potatoes saves a lot of time. I use unpeeled red potatoes, and chopped onion. I never use margarine or butter in these. Olive oil is delicious and is much healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Easy, great recipe...growing up this was called smothered potatoes, we would add sliced onion while cooking and sometimes serve with ketchup...always good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States