Steve's Famous Garlic Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
1st off... YOU MUST USE A GOOD NON STICK PAN FOR THIS! I made the mistake like others and used a reg pan the first time I tried this and I burnt half of it and the other half was mushy... I did make some changes... My 4 potatos were HUGE so it was more like a double batch. I left the skins on and cut the potatoes in half and than cut thicker slices rather than cutting into chunks. I doubled everything and used 6 tbs butter and 6 tbs extra virgin olive oil, just to be healthier. I used 5 large cloves and instead of the chives at the end I diced half a sweet onion and cooked that along w/ the garlic. Doubled the salt and pepper. The first time I made this I used the paprika but this time I was all out and it was still good. I started the cooking directions exactly as written but once done I continued to cook it to get it alittle crisper... I cooked it on med heat and every 5 to 10 mins I would turn/flip the potatoes. It took about 45 mins total and the potatoes were a nice gold brown w/ lots of crispy bits in it. And don't worry about breaking the potatos.. those broken pieces are the pieces that get nice and crispy... That's the best part! This was a HUGE hit and I've made this 3 times in the past 2 weeks! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
These were fabulous, easy to make and a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kadbury

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
These excellent-especially dipped in sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
These were delicious. I added extra garlic, sliced onions, and powdered chicken boullion for more flavor and they came out really good. This method yields flavorful, browned potatoes - the best recipe I have found for home fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Fantastic! I swapped out the butter for some EVOO and baked them instead. I also added 3 extra cloves of garlic and 2 tbs. of Essance of Emeril. My kids gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCKID

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Mine didn't cook for the recommended time. They were done a lot faster. They did start to stick and burn to the bottom of my skillet, but I was able to save them. I used red potatoes since that's what I had on hand and I double all the spices. These had a really great taste and turned out really soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
These were delicious...I added extra garlic and I chopped up a vidalia onion as well that I cooked up with the potatoes, they added a little sweetness. The chives added at the end were yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaSunshine03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
These weren't very spectacular. I had to add much more seasoning than was listed on the recipe for less potatoes. Still wasn't very tasty. As another reviewer mentioned, bottom of the pan burned. Next time will use water on the bottom to (hopefully) prevent this from happening again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
These were very good, made them exactly as the recipe said. I will make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States