Steve's Famous Garlic Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Excellent! Only substitution was chopped red onion for the chives, since I didn't have any. Also doubled the garlic. Cut the potatoes pretty small so they'd actually cook in about 30 minutes. Going to try 1/2 EVOO and 1/2 butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This is a great recipe and just what I was looking for. I had a small, very ripe tomato from the garden that I diced up and put in as well as 2 leftover pieces of bacon. What a treat!!! Thanks for the base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IAgardener55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Making the potatoes is quite a long process, but it is worth it. They were delicious and a new family favorite. Oh and I used baby reds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bordertown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Yep, I loved them too! Very, very good - thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
These potatoes are AWESOME! The most incredible home fries I've ever made. I followed the recipe exactly & thought the instructions were perfect! They cooked up crispy on the outside, tender on the inside, and the flavor of paprika & chives is spot on! This will be a repeat in our house for sure! The Hubster said that he would gladly eat these at breakfast, lunch, or dinner. :) Thanks so much for this keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I can't believe how good these were! They are so simple, yet I have already made these 3 times since finding the recipe a month ago. THANK YOU STEVE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYRAYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
With the substitution of extra virgin olive oil for half the butter, this method of cooking home fries worked very well. I especilly liked the fresh chives, but i did not increase the heat when adding them, as my potatoes were cooked through at this point. You could add onions and/or green peppers and vary the seasonings to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I cooked up some bacon and when it was time to make the home fries, I used part of the bacon fat with a little butter to cook the home fries. With an onion, and a side of bacon and eggs.....this is breakfast heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Great home fries! I partially cooked my potatoes first and used seasoned salt vs. regular salt. I added come chopped onion and the addition of fresh chives was great. I did use a non-stick pan - not sure if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
These were decent. Used 1/2 butter and 1/2 EVOO. It was a bit much, maybe next time used 1/2 butter and 1/4 EVOO. I also added a bit more salt (I used Kosher), and a bit more paprika. I thought they were good, and my Easter brunch guests really enjoyed them. (No leftovers) I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tarainga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States